Hot Cocoa

About the only hot beverage I like to drink is hot cocoa. I can’t stand coffee, hot tea is OK, but not something I get excited over. However, hot cocoa? LOVE IT! Before I had to change the way I eat every time we went out to eat between October and March (give or take…) I would order hot cocoa. I just love it.  I’ve pretty much had to stop buying the mixes from the store and have been making my own. The Hershey’s baking cocoa container will give you a good recipe. I have modified it some as the kids and I don’t do dairy any longer, and David rarely does. If you’re looking to do a non-mix hot cocoa this is a good recipe. I simply use almond milk in place of the cow’s milk. It’s just as yummy! I have made the recipe from the Against All Grain cookbook too. This is a really good recipe, but takes a long time to make, and I found it VERY rich and too much for the kids, especially. So, Monday I kinda put the 2 together and came up with my own concoction! Don’t let the recipe make you think you MUST have it that way! Shake it up and get the mix to the point that you and your family enjoy it the most (this goes for pretty much any recipe, not just hot cocoa!). Anyway, here’s what I did!

IMG_4966

HOT COCOA:

1/4 c cocoa powder

1/3 c sugar

1/2 c water

dash of salt

Bring to a boil and boil for 5 min, stirring pretty regularly.

Add the fat from 1 can of coconut milk and 2 1/2 c almond milk. Stir until hot. If it doesn’t taste chocolatey enough, add more cocoa powder.

Take off heat and add 1 tsp vanilla. I really think the vanilla pushes it over the edge! So yummy!!!!

ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

