Dogs–Lovable Nuisances

We have a beagle, I’m sure I’ve mentioned her before. Her name is Molly, and she has become like a child to us. She’s 2 1/2 and full of energy–sometimes! 🙂 She does manage to get a lot of naps in during the day–she has her pre-bed nap even! 🙂 With the digging up of our yard over the past few days (due to laying new drainage pipes) we’ve had to move her chain elsewhere. The best place, unfortunately, was to put her at a tree that is right by on of my flower beds. I’m not much of a gardner, but I do enjoy pretty flowers and do put time into weeding (ok, not tons of time, but some does go into it! 🙂 ) and watering. I go out last night to see my flower bed nearly destroyed!!!! My day lilies, which were days away from breaking from their blooms, were loped off. I had 2 other plants completely uprooted and turned over and then several holes were dug in various areas. Sigh…I tried to scold her, but it’s hard when she’s so blasted cute and just stands there wagging her tail, which in turn is wagging her, and “smiles” at you. Oh you stupid, lovable dog!!! She doesn’t understand. All she knows is dad and mom put her by this GREAT dirt patch and hey! Mom has come out to see me! Sigh…what shall we do? The rest of the yard is a mud pit. Apparently, that all has to settle before new grass seed can be put down. Not sure how long that will take or how long it’ll be b4 we DON’T have mud in the house. We were coming back in the house last night and got distracted talking to some other people. We look down and Molly is furiously rubbing her head/neck on something. What is it do you ask? You’ll wish you hadn’t! 🙂 It was a dead bird complete with maggots!!! Oh yeah, that’s our dog. I’ve attached a photo so you can see this loveable creature that God has given us! 🙂 She is a hoot, despite her love for digging and rolling on dead things.
Leave a Reply

