Out of the Mouths of Babes

We all know that kids have a way of saying things that make us laugh, think about and really wonder if given the chance we too might say it that way. 🙂 I’m thinking of an instance this past weekend when we were in Ashland with my sister and her family. Our niece (who is 3 1/2) is very verbal, very smart, etc. My sister and brother-in-law are teaching her Bible verses. Currently she has 2 memorized–“Do everything without arguing or complaining” and also “Children obey your parents in the Lord for this is right.” Well, Sophia was being a pill Friday morning and not eating her breakfast. My sister calmly asked her what her 1st verse said. Without a beat, Sophia defiantly says, “Do everything WITH arguing and complaing!!!” My sister, said, no that’s not right. What does the 2nd one say? Again, Sophia says, “Children, obey your parents in the Lord for this is WRONG!” Oh my…as funny as it was at the time (well, to David and I, Jamie and Ruthie weren’t too thrilled 🙂 ), it did cause me to wonder. If I was truly honest would I want to repeat God’s words back to him in the same fashion? Don’t I still struggle with not arguing/complaining? There are still things in his Word that are a struggle for me and I would really rather just do the opposite. What a joy being a parent is. To mold this young mind/heart to follow the Lord. Easy? NO WAY! I see my sister and brother-in-law and marvel at the wisdom they have to raise their daughter (and soon to be another). I know they pray for that wisdom and pray for guidance and pray for their daughter. It’s a daily struggle and joy to raise up a child in the way she/he should go. How precious is this Sophia!! She keeps us laughing with her antics, her ever-flowing chattering, her huge smiles, her hugs and kisses. How is it possible for a little being to have so much love already flowing out of her? What a precious child she is. Thank you Jesus for her!!!
One thought on “Out of the Mouths of Babes

  1. Aww… that was a sweet blog Jeni, and the one about Grandma Hanna was so heartfelt and well said. Love and miss you! Can’t wait to see you as a Mama! I believe, and I will keep believing because I think God has this for you.

Leave a Reply

