Texas sheet cake

I’m sitting here at my desk thinking of my mom because I’m eating a Texas sheet cake, her absolute favorite dessert! πŸ™‚ I’ll eat a piece for you Mom! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ It’s YUMMY! πŸ™‚
It’s been a whirlwind of a last few days for David and I. Thursday night I was only a block from work when a man ran a stop sign, and I plowed right into him. Talk about frightening! When I opened my eyes I was facing the opposite direction and realized my airbags had deployed and were now smoking and filling the car with white powder. I opened the door and swung my legs out so I could get fresh air, and all I could think about was the baby. I was praying fervently that she was OK and alive and not at all harmed. Police, EMTs and a fire truck quickly arrived. I was asked by a policeman if I would like to sit in his warm car, sure, so I did. David arrived and we both just clung to each other and cried. We were relieved that I was alive and didn’t appear to be hurt, but both very much afraid that the baby was not alive and so unsure as to what our night would hold–sorrow or happiness? I was taken to the hospital via ambulance, hooked up to an IV, blood drawn, etc. They took my vitals again at the hospital while David checked me in. He came back to be with me as they were getting ready to find the baby’s heartbeat. Thump, thump, thump, thump!!!!!!!!!!!! What a beautiful sound!!!!!! We were both estatic and couldn’t speak we were so thankful she was alright! Our evening was going to be filled with joy! I was admitted to the hospital for the night just to keep a watch on the baby, and after a terrible night’s sleep I was released the next day with a clean bill of health for me and the baby. Praise God from Whom ALL blessings flow. I cannot express to you the relief we both feel knowing that I’m not only OK but so is the baby.
Friday was a very frustrating day as we dealt with car insurance. And, due to a mix-up of our understanding/their lack of explanation we were told we will not be getting anything in return for our totaled car. Ah, the joys of a “no fault” state. Funny how the law protects the one who IS at fault. We have calmed down a bit from that shocking news and are now trying to figure out what to do about a second vehicle. We are not without options right now, but want to be sure to choose the right option. This has turned into an expensive lesson, one we hope to never have to repeat!!! We will be sure to ask LOTS of questions and be ABUNDANTLY clear as to what we’re protected for, etc. And we will no longer be using State Farm Insurance. Some neighbor, as my husband said!!!
I’m posting a photo of the car so you can see it. It’s terrible, my poor, little car, but it is MOST important that I and the baby are fine.
One thought on “Texas sheet cake

  1. Oh Jeni I am SO glad you and baby girl are OK! I remember that kind of mama fear when I was in premature labor with Aggie very early on… Life is SO precious!

Leave a Reply

