29 Weeks and Counting…

My brain isn’t functioning too well today. I’m tired. I’m getting over a cold, I’m sore, and I guess I’m just a complainer today! But! I have much to be thankful for!! The baby is growing at a reasonable pace, I guess! 🙂 She is currently supposed to be about 2 1/2 lbs. Not much growth from last week, but it seems to me she goes through spurts. Next week she’ll probably be talking or something! 🙂
I have found the 3rd trimester has brought a whole new set of interesting things to deal with. In my 1st trimester I was SICK, SICK, SICK. I don’t remember much more than the toilet and my pillow from that time. Glad to be through that stage! The 2nd trimester wasn’t too eventful. I felt much better, was able to EAT and just seemed to be sailing along. Now it’s time for the 3rd trimester. Probably, in a lot of ways the most challenging. I’m getting BIGGER (see photo), my hips and other joints are in way more pain (and try having little baby push on your sciatic nerve–yah, LOTS of pain involved there!!!), I’m starting to realize that for 30 years I’ve taken a good night’s sleep for granted, it’s challenging to put on socks, tie shoes, pick up anything I drop and shave my legs–just to mention a few things. 🙂 The indigestion and heart burn are increasing and my overall level of comfort is going WAY down.

BUT! Enough complaining! There are also several things that are improving! I am loving this child more and more every day, my husband can now SEE and FEEL her move–she is one active little lady–my excitement to hold and hug her increases hourly, my fear of giving birth to this child is lessening ( I figure this is all part of God’s divine plan–to make one so uncomfortable you don’t care what it takes, just get the kid out!), and I can’t wait to be a mom and see what this little baby is going to grow up to do/be one day. Will she be an astronaut, a ballerina, a mommy, the 1st female president of the U.S., a missionary, a millionaire? Who knows! It’s very exciting to think about.

So, despite the discomfort, the pain (sometimes excrutiating) and indigestion I’m thankful for this baby. She is truly a miracle and a gift from God. I can’t help but stop in wonder every day to see first-hand this miracle who is growing inside of me. Thank you Lord for allowing me this opportunity! I just hope I don’t mess it up! 🙂 🙂
5 thoughts on “29 Weeks and Counting…

  1. Being pregnant with Riley is still fresh enough in my mind to remember all the miseries of the last trimester! It is true though, it does a wonderful job of making you ready and excited for labor and delivery! Love you and can’t wait to see you as a mommy. You are already such an excellent caregiver, you’ll do great – with God’s help of course, thank you Lord for… YOU! (at least I know I couldn’t do a moment of it without him!)

  2. I had horrible heart burn and indigestion with Steve. Grandma Russell said I was going to have a red-headed boy with lots of hair. This was before ultrsound. Kinda funny, though, she was right!!!

  3. You will be a great Mom!!!!! You will love and cherish that little baby girl everyday! I can relate to the pain caused by the sciatica. Once you have that bundle of joy in you arms – all pains and discomfort will leave! Praying for you!Love,Sue

Leave a Reply

