What They Don’t Tell You…

…in the movies! During this whole process of pregnancy, labor, delivery and now being a mom for almost a whole week I have been struck by the MANY things “they” never tell you in movies, TV shows and even health class where all this stuff is concerned. So, I thought it might be fun to list some of those things and if you’re a mom and have things to add, please do! 🙂  I’m going to make things specific to me, but I’m sure a lot of it is similar/same to most women.

1. Pregnancy does all sorts of weird things to you: you pee frequently, lose your mind, forget everything, puke a lot (some do), have increased ear wax, swell or don’t swell, eat things you never thought you would, are insanely tired…
2. It’s not called labor for nothing!
3. Just because you’re induced does NOT mean things will go quickly.
4. When your water breaks, it can trickle and gush all at the same time, and still not all come out until the baby is born.
5. Sitting in the hot tub doesn’t necessarily speed up the laboring process.
6. When the vacuum and/or forceps are used to help the birthing process it’s a very weird sensation.
7. Pushing a human out of you is the most physically challenging thing I’ve done.
8. The feeling of the head, then shoulders, then body of a baby coming out of you is the WEIRDEST and best feeling in the world. I can’t even begin to describe what it felt like.
9. After all is said and done, and you should be wildly exhausted, you actually feel like you could run a marathon and are so full of energy it’s remarkable.
10. The day after is HARD. Everything hurts. I didn’t know sitting, standing and getting up out of a chair could be so painful.
11. The first shower after giving birth is the BEST one I’ll ever take.
12. The desire to get my baby HOME was overwhelming.
13. The first thing I’ve had to teach my baby is how to eat. She didn’t come out knowing how to do so.
14. Nursing a baby is HARD, somewhat painful and beautiful all at the same time.
15. I’ve never loved sleep so much in my life.
16. I’ve never loved looking at a baby so much in my life.
17. I’ve never loved my husband more than I do now.
18. I am overwhelmed by the feelings of love I have for this child.
19. I cry over the dumbest things now. Those darn hormones are at it again!
20. I’m no longer concerned about what I look like–hair not done? Who cares! No make up? Oh well! Brush the teeth? Is there time?
3 thoughts on “What They Don’t Tell You…

Leave a Reply

