Yah, wahoo, Wii…

Can’t you just feel the enthusiasm? 🙂 One of my biggest struggles in life has ALWAYS been my weight. I grew quickly as a child and was the height I am now in 5th grade–5′ 4″. I always felt like a gargantuan child and always thought I was fat. I look back at photos as me as a child and see that I was NOT fat, I just grew faster than the other girls. Why I couldn’t figure out to be friends with people bigger than me, I’ll never know…In jr high and high school I still felt fat. By this time we were living in the USA and well, we all know the pressure media puts on us to be thin. I’ve always hated the way I looked. Well, that’s not true. I can think of 2 times when I felt great and loved the way I looked–summer after my freshman year of college when I was a camp counselor and lost a ton of weight, and then at the end of my 2 yrs in Cameroon, I also lost a lot of weight then. However, both times I gained it back. I’ve never been one to do the fad diets. I believe strongly in being healthy and doing things the “right” way. Alas, how strongly do I REALLY feel about it? Here I am 31, at my heaviest, and I’m STILL struggling with my weight.

My husband and I have come up with a plan for ourselves on losing weight. Again, no fad diet, just making smarter choices about what goes in our mouths and also exercising regularly. We both have weaknesses and have both committed do working on those. For example, I’m to only have 1 bowl (the actual recommended serving size and not a heaping bowl as is customary for me…) of cereal a day, and David can only have 1 can of pop a day. We have committed to having more fruits and veggies in the house and at meals, not so many cookies/brownies/cake/ice cream. We have decided to only eat out ONCE a week, and I have a feeling that will mean WAY less fast food. We went out and bought a Wii to do the exercise program it offers. I even bought us each a new exercising outfit! 🙂 We are ready to go.

Now, we just have to DO IT!!!! What does Nike say? “Just do it?” Yeah, that’s the hard part. It’s SO EASY to talk about doing something, to lay out your plans, to get prepared. But, I find it extra hard to actually follow through and DO it. I have NEVER been one to lose weight easily. No, not me. I have to WORK at it. I have to sweat, eat rabbit food, cut out the ice cream I so love. I can’t hardly even look at food because I’m convinced looking at it causes me to gain weight! 🙂 Sigh…I’m sure that’s not true, but it sure feels that way sometimes. I was “blessed” with the German blood and sturdy body. I was not given the tall, thin body type from my Dad’s side of the family. Ah well. After 31 years you’d think I would just accept this ridiculous body and move on.

Well, here goes something (sounds more positive then “here goes nothing”)! I have started, today, the 30-day challenge offered on our Wii. I MUST stick to it. I’m sick and tired of TALKING and to get DOING. I’d appreciate your prayers if you think about it. I desire to be healthy. I want to give a good example to my children. I don’t want to be in my 50s and THEN have to work on setting up good health habits. It’ll be hard, I will pray lots, there will be tears and there will be sweat. But, I know the end result will be worth it. I have not decided yet if I will post photos…We shall see.

JUST DO IT!

5 thoughts on “Yah, wahoo, Wii…

  1. HI Honey! I really liked your honesty in your blog. Just take it one day at a time. That's what I have to do. But I know you might not think it now, but you will feel better!love,mom

  2. Yay Jeni!!! I know you guys can do it!! Just take baby steps and incorporate the changes into your life and don't get discouraged when you have an "off" day!! Easier said than done, I know! How are you liking the Wii?

  3. Good job Jeni and David!!!! You can do anything for 30 days, right? 🙂 That's what I keep telling myself as Jamie and I also do our 30 day Shred workout. Praying for you guys, pray for us too!?Ruthie

Leave a Reply

