Who Says Nothing Happens in Osseo?

Here are some photos of the accident. The “rest of the story” is after the photos. I can’t seem to get things to cooperate this morning….

Back of the Honda. Trunk was popped open.
The driver’s car.

Last evening, around 6:00 I was in the kitchen getting dinner ready, and David was taking care of Cora, watching TV in the living room when we heard a CRASH! BANG! I come flying out of the kitchen in time to see David flying out the door only stopping to give me Cora and yelling, “Call the police!” I look outside and see that someone has run into our PARKED Honda, which was then slammed into our PARKED van! David went out and saw there was a girl (early 20s) sitting in the car, dazed, with no seatbelt. He had to ask her several times if she was OK before she responded. When she did she said she was fine and got out of the car. (this all happened very quickly) A sheriff pulled up literally less than a minute after it all happened. He proceeded to ask the girl what happened, etc. She kept saying she was “OK,” which of course was obvious she was not. Amazingly enough she didn’t have a scratch on her considering she came full speed (no skid marks on road to indicate she had tried to stop) into 2 parked cars and she wasn’t wearing a seatbelt. After a few minutes another sheriff came and then a MI state police with another officer with him and then the amublance along with several neighbors.
What we came to learn was this girl had taken out a telephone pole down the road dropping a package of some kind…drugs???? Then she went into a ditch only to land into our cars. She had just recently been in jail for wreckless driving and was driving on a suspended license. Also, one of the witnesses had seen her “huffing” from an aerosal can while she was driving and evidence would prove so.
I am thankful for MANY things in this situation. First and foremost is this: David, Cora, Molly and I often are found taking walks at the same time this all happened. I do not believe in coincindences and know that the Lord made it happen that I wasn’t fixing dinner until later last night. There are many kids in this neighborhood who love to ride bikes and play outside at this time. Last night, there were no children outside. The Lord kept many of us safe including this girl who caused it all to begin with. I am also left with a burden for her. I don’t know who she is or where she comes from or what her life is like, but clearly it’s not a very good one. I have been praying for her since she “came” into our lives last night.
I am also left to wonder, “What more, Lord?” It just seems to keep coming. But, I am reminded that cars are replaceable and my husband and child are not. I am reminded that the Lord knows our needs and our finances. He knows it all. David is meeting with the insurance people this morning to see what needs to be done. The Honda is, I’m sure, done for. The van is still driveable but we can’t get the passenger door open. So…
I found this verse yesterday and little did I know how much it would mean today. “The LORD is good to those how depend on him, to those who search for him.” Lam. 3:25 Yep, we’re depending on the Lord!
5 thoughts on “Who Says Nothing Happens in Osseo?

  1. I've been thinking of you guys and this crazy situation ever since Mom told me right after you called her the other night. Goodness. What an insane situation. Praying!!!! Love you.

  2. Oh my goodness, Jeni, I can't believe this happened to you guys! I am so sorry! But I am grateful that you guys are safe and that this accident didn't occur when you guys were *in* the cars!

  3. Jeni my heart breaks for you. Praise God you all are ok. I am praying for this young girl too. What a mess she is in. I am also praying that the Insurance company will come through! God will take care of all of this.

Leave a Reply

