Bueblerry Muffins

Well, here we are again, the end of another weekend. I had decided a bit ago that I would get back to baking more, like I used to. When I got pregnant I was so sick that being in the kitchen literally made me throw up. Then, Cora was born and well, long story short, I just stopped baking like I used to. As I’ve mentioned, I have a friend who has a food blog. She has inspired me to get back to into the kitchen and get baking again, much to my husbands delight! 🙂 I make a lot of muffins but for some reason I’ve always used box mixes. I don’t know why, I just have. But, this time I realized we have a lot of blueberries that aren’t getting eaten and maybe it would be tasty to make some muffins! 🙂 So, that’s just what I did! 🙂 Shocking, I know! 🙂 🙂 They turned out DELICIOUS!!! The recipe makes 12 and between my husband and I we’re already eaten 4. 🙂 I thought I would share some photos and also the recipe. You’ll notice that right now my recipes all come from my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook due to all of my others being packed away at the moment. So, without further adieu…
Blueberry Muffins
from Better Homes and Gardens
 
1 3/4 cups flour
1/3 cup sugar
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. salt
1 beaten egg
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup cooking oil
1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries
1 recipe streusel topping
1. Grease 12 muffin cups or line with paper cups; set aside.
2. In a medium bowl combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Make a well in the center of flour mixture; Set aside.
3. In another bowl combine egg, milk, and oil. Add egg mixture al at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy–did you know if you over-stir your muffins you’ll have pointy muffins instead of round curved ones?). Gently fold in blueberries.
4. Spoon batter into prepared muffin tins, filling each 2/3 full. If desired (I highly recommend), sprinkle with streusel topping (see recipe below) over muffin batter in cups. 
5. Bake in a 400 degree oven for 18-20 min. or until golden and a wooden toothpick inserted in centers comes out clean. Cool in muffin cups on a wire rack for 5 min. Remove from muffin cups.
Streusel Topping:
3 Tbsp. flour
3 Tbsp. brown sugar
1/4 tsp. cinnamon
2 Tbsp. butter
 
Cut butter into dry ingredients until topping becomes course (size of peas). Sprinkle on top of muffin batter in cups.
2 thoughts on “Bueblerry Muffins

Leave a Reply

