Have Times REALLY Changed?

Today marks the start of classes here at Hillsdale College. I had to run to the bookstore to get a few things for the department and saw a lot of the students wandering around. They seemed to have an excited, yet dumb-founded look on their face as if to say, “is summer really over?” I couldn’t help but notice again the way the students here dress. I don’t know about you, but when I was in college my wardrobe consisted of jeans and shirts that didn’t need ironing. I had dress clothes, but they were for church and the occasional presentation I had to give. But, Monday through Saturday I was not dressed up unless I had to be. However, here at Hillsdale the kids dress much differently. It is not uncommon to see the men walking around in suits, dress pants, button down shirts and ties and for the girls to be in dresses/skirts and stiletto heels (yes, even in the dead of winter with snow a foot high on the ground. Silly girls!!). I find this so interesting and funny all at the same time. Yes, you have the students who dress “down” as I did, but it is very common for the majority (or so it seems) of the students to be dressed up. Have times really changed that much? Am I just getting old? I don’t seem to remember people dressing up at my college like they do here. I went to a college similar to Hillsdale, small, private, not many students. I feel a little old today. I’m 31 and have been out of school for 9 years. Where has the time gone? Oh well. I say YEAH for jeans and shirts that don’t need ironed! 🙂 I like to be comfy, don’t you?

3 thoughts on “Have Times REALLY Changed?

  1. I do occasionally and actually want to get some nicer things, but I'm so worn out this week that it's been jeans and Tees. Honestly, I feel more put together, mature, and confident. Sometimes I wear jeans and tees to class and I'll feel like an awkward teen, probably more so because I look so young. Just giving the student side of things. 😉

Leave a Reply

