Do You Believe?

It’s Christmastime. Time for hot cocoa, cookies, pies, cakes, snow, sleigh-riding (does anyone actually still do that?), sledding, ice skating, the list goes on! It’s also time for Santa Claus. You know, the man with the belly that jiggles like jelly? The man with the rosey cheeks? The man who sneaks into your home at night on Christmas Eve and leaves wonders under the Christmas tree (you know, it seems a little creepy to me, no?)? Yeah, that guy!

Now that we have a child it is very interesting to think about Santa Claus. Being a family who is Christian we would prefer our children remember that Christmas is about the Christ child being born. This child who would grow up to be a man, a man who would later die for our sins. I have wrestled with the idea about how much we do Santa in our house. David and I have talked about it from time to time. It was never a big deal in either of our homes, in fact my mom couldn’t even get me to believe in him! (Seriously, no snow in Africa, no chimney for him to come down, just doesn’t make sense I tell you!) We have decided not to play Santa up very much. Obviously, your child can’t go out of the house without seeing something Santa-esque, so we’ll explain as the times come. However, in the Hardin house, Santa will be playing 2nd, 3rd, maybe even 4th fiddle to some other Christmas characters.

Anyway! Enough serious stuff! Did you believe in Santa growing up? Were you devastated when you learned he wasn’t real? (Ooops! I guess if you didn’t know already, you do now! πŸ™‚ ) What about the Easter Bunny? I refused to believe in the possibility of Santa; the Easter Bunny was a little more believable to me, but the Tooth Fairy? She TOTALLY exists! πŸ™‚

4 thoughts on “Do You Believe?

  1. I totally believed in Santa, and would write letters to him every year, and imagined him making my toys, and every year I tried to wait up for him. I don't remember how old I was when I found out he wasn't real, but I think I was old enough that it wasn't too traumatic.I like that you held out and wouldn't believe because the evidence (no chimney, no snow) pointed otherwise! πŸ™‚

  2. I still can't believe you believed in the Tooth Fairy, that totally cracks me up!!! Sophia loves learning about the story of the real Saint Nicholas – though when we keep telling her Santa Claus is pretend and then she sees a very real person dressed as the Man in Red at the mall or whatever, it is a bit confusing, but she's working it out and she knows the meaning of Christmas is Jesus' birth – which is most important to us!

Leave a Reply

