Random Thoughts…

…running through my head…which may or may not (probably not) be connected!

It was Mardi Gras yesterday–“Fat Tuesday.” The day we are “allowed” to do whatever we want; act as sinfully as we want; eat, drink and be merry. It’s all “OK” because today is Ash Wednesday. And, don’t we all know it’s easier to ask forgiveness than permission? I have no desire to ever spend Mardi Gras in New Orleans. I can’t even imagine the debauchery that must have taken place.

Which brings me to another thing–Lent. I understand the premise of Lent. I understand we’re supposed to be spending this time giving up something that would bring us some measure of suffering so we’re more apt to remember what Christ did on the Cross for us. But, I have to ask you…does giving up chocolate/sweets/coffee/TV, really produce suffering in your life? I mean, really? And, can we truly grasp the kind of suffering Christ went through for us? I don’t think so. What if we gave up things like gossiping, gluttony, judging others, selfishness, and actually tried to better ourselves in an eternal way? I think that’s more along the lines of what Lent is supposed to be. I mean, let’s give up true “addictions” not just chocolate.

Mmmmm…chocolate…I love it, I live to eat it, I eat it because I live…

I can’t wait for Cora to start talking. I know, I know, when she does she won’t stop. Who cares???? I don’t! I can’t wait to communicate with her verbally. Being one who relies on verbal to communicate I just can’t wait.

Waiting is so hard, isn’t it? I mean we’ve been waiting for 14 months now for David to find a job. I’m tired of waiting. Isn’t it time for this to be over yet? Have we “done our time” yet? I know, it’s not in our control. We followed the Lord out of Bankers not knowing what the economy would do. If we had known would we have been as obedient? I hope so!!!! And now, we wait. I guess I’m not learning my lesson in patience very well because I feel I do a lot of waiting in life.

I’m so glad we’re not getting all the dreadful snow everyone else is getting! Being in Michigan would make you think we’d be getting slammed, but thankfully we’re not!

I’ve been reading these community discussions on another blog, and I have to say, really? I have been very disturbed by how open women are being about their SEX LIFE with their husband, their relationship with their husband, etc. And, what I’ve found is most of these women haven’t even tried to talk to their husbands about the issue(s) at hand. They just go to this discussion place then ask everyone else what they should do. Thankfully, there are many women who tell the woman to go and talk to her husband, but I can’t help but look at this discussion board as one big hen fest. One big gossip circle. One big gripe time. If things are that bad go see a counselor!!!! These strangers can’t help you. I don’t know. Call me crazy, but I would NOT be happy if I found out David was airing our dirty laundry on a blog discussion board for any and all to read. I would be so hurt!!!! I will no longer be reading these discussion boards. They’re much too disturbing.

OK, enough random thoughts. I could go on and on, but I won’t! 🙂 I hope you have a very great day today!!!

3 thoughts on “Random Thoughts…

Leave a Reply

