Daddy’s Little Girl in Two Parts

PART ONE:

Today is Father’s Day, as we all know, and I wanted to do a blog about my dad. He was my original Prince Charming, my Knight in Shining Armor. He was the first man to tell me I was pretty, to tell me I was good at something, to cheer me on. My dad isn’t loud and isn’t in your face. He goes about his exercising his faith quietly but with conviction and does his best at whatever he does. I learned from my dad, what it is to be a person of integrity. I learned from me dad what it is to be a truly honest person in EVERYTHING I did. I also learned how to joke around, throw a ball, mow the grass, change the oil in my car and countless other things from my dad. He is a Godly man, a man who loves the Lord first, his wife second and his daughters third. My dad was the example to me of what I should look for in my husband. My dad and husband are very similar, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. The things I admire most in my dad are the things I wouldn’t give up in a husband, and thankfully, God brought me just the right man to share my life with. The photo below is so appropriate. How many things have I cooked/baked for my dad? Some flops, but also lots of successes and he ate them all, never complaining. He would always tell me how good something was, even if I knew it wasn’t. I made him this race car inspired cake for him a few years ago for his birthday. It’s just one of those pictures that sums up so much! šŸ™‚ And, I was also very newly pregnant when I took this photo, though I didn’t know it. I love you Dad!!!!!!! I hope you know how much you mean to me!

PART TWO:
Because I had such a wonderful dad I felt confident to wait for the right man God had for me. I knew I didn’t have to jump at any ol’ guy, but knew I could wait for just the right one. Someone who would be a man of God, a man of integrity. Someone who chose the right path even when it was hard. I praise the Lord that I found that man–my husband, David. I am also thrilled that he gets to be the dad to his very own special little girl. I have so enjoyed watching my husband be a daddy to his little girl. He is so good at gently showing her the right way to go, telling her how pretty she is, being her safety net. He’s a good dad, and I know as Cora grows up she’ll learn to love and respect her dad and look to him for many things. The photo below is my beloved husband with his little girl. They have so much fun playing together!
Today I celebrate my dad and my husband, but I’m also thankful for my dad-in-law, Bill, my brother-in-law, Jamie and my new stepdad-in-law, Mark. I’m also thankful for my 2 uncles,Uncle Bob and Uncle Kerry, who have always been there for me as well and are also very wonderful men. I’m privileged to have each of them in my life.
To all the dads in my life–HAPPY FATHERS DAY! I hope you feel as special today as you are!
One thought on “Daddy’s Little Girl in Two Parts

Leave a Reply

