L-A-Z-Y

How do you define laziness? Not working? Sitting comfortably on the beach with a good book? Only doing “just enough” to get the job done? I’ve been thinking about this word a lot lately. I’ve been feeling lazy because I’m not getting up in the morning and leaving the house for work. Rather, my work is here, at the house, and my only coworker right now is my daughter! It has been an adjustment, as I’ve mentioned before! I’m having to figure out what it is to be a stay at home mom and fill my days differently then I did before.

The main thing that has been crossing my mind about laziness is my weight. If you’re a human being you can not escape the constant pressure to be the “perfect size” (whatever that is!), or have the perfect look, or wear the perfect styles. We are bombarded with magazines, billboards, TV commercials, movies, TV shows, it’s an endless barrage of what the perfect body is to look like. It gets tiresome and if you’re like me you start to feel very inadequate and worthless. However, I can blame media all I want, the truth of the matter is I’m overweight. I need to lose a lot of weight (Mom, stop disagreeing!), and I need to take better care of myself.
I have always prided myself as one who eats healthy food. ‘Course, you wouldn’t know it to look at me. I don’t eat fried foods, I rarely have pop, I don’t much care for candy. However, I do have my downfalls–I can easily down a bunch of bread (but it’s wheat!!!), and my biggest temptation is chocolate! I can kid myself as much as I want, wheat bread is still bread and still full of calories. I don’t need to eat 6 pcs of it in a day!
I have always struggled with my weight. I hit puberty early as a girl and so was always taller then my friends (thus, weighing more, even though looking at my photos I was not fat). I’ve always been the girl with curves, never the Twiggy-type. With different things happening to me in my childhood I have to wonder if eating became my therapy? I don’t know. What I do know is I need to gain control, stop being lazy and lose this weight!
My husband is very good at telling me like it is (which is a good thing, because I don’t hesitate to do the same to him). After 4 years of bemoaning my weight issues to him, always finding good examples (um, excuses!) as to why I can’t lose it, he finally said to me, I have to stop finding excuses and just do it!
And so, we embark on a journey to lose weight. I say “we” because my husband is joining me. My goal is to be back to 140 lbs. I have a long way to go to get there. I am disgusted with myself for letting myself get as heavy as I have. How are we doing this? We’re counting calories (it’s amazing how many calories are in things you thought were harmless), drinking our 64 oz of water a day, and I’m getting up 4-5 times a week to do “The 30 Day Shred” (and lest you wonder, no, that’s not an advertisement for “The Shred,” I’m just telling you what I’m doing). So far this week I’ve been doing well. I opted to sleep in this morning and not exercise, but shall tomorrow!
I have become so lazy with life. I keep telling myself, “oh, you can just start tomorrow.” Why not start today????? I have been praying that God will show me how to live a life that isn’t lazy–in everything I do. I want to take care of this body he’s given me and use it for his glory. I want to be a good example to my daughter of how to be a healthy woman emotionally and physically. I know this is not going to be easy. Let’s face it, it’s MUCH easier to stay in bed. However, the feeling of regret when I don’t eat what I should and don’t exercise is getting old so I think I’ll try something else!
What have you become lazy about in your life lately?
3 thoughts on “L-A-Z-Y

  1. Congratulations for taking the first step! I have been there and done that and so have many of the women in our small group. We will definitely be supporting you and praying for you!

  2. I am so proud of you Jeni for being able to write this down for everyone to read. I know I am not that brave. Pray for me too. I am praying for you. Remember to take it one day at a time.love,mom

  3. I can relate!!!!! Ever since having Soph I've weighed more than I've wanted and more than I should. I too am trying so hard to overcome this and lose it once and for all!!! Food, what a stupid stronghold, but indeed it is. I'm proud of you and will be praying for you!

Leave a Reply

