Blub, blub, blub

Ok, so I’m a pastor’s wife again! πŸ™‚ Woohoo!!!!! I have been thinking back over our time at Bankers and the things that happened to me as pastor’s wife. Though there were many hard, hurtful things there were also just as many things that were funny, or simply made one scratch her head. I have talked enough about the sadness and hurt we had there so I thought I would share some of the funny things in this post! For those that may not know, my husband and I lived in the church’s parsonage–this is only helpful information! πŸ™‚ These are in no order as to when they happened, just in the order in which I remember them!

1. When we moved in I was told where to make my junk drawer in the kitchen.
2. Our first spring I was excited to see some sweet pea growing in the flower beds and then was
told by a woman she had rid me of it (very proudly) as it’ll just take over!
3. I was given a bag of clothes from a woman who is about 5’2″ (I’m 5′ 4″) and about 100 lbs.
soaking wet (I’m more than that DRY!). I took them and promptly took them to Salvation
Army. πŸ™‚
4. My husband and I set out all the Easter lilies our first Easter. When we went to church the
next morning they had been redone and I was handed a photo so I knew how to do it the
next year!
5. During one spring we had a cleaning day at the church including the grounds. I had
threatened my husband not to come in the house with dirty shoes as I had just mopped.
After the cleaning was done, I went in to find clumps of mud all through the house! I was so
mad at David, who had not done it (I found out…) and we were then kinda creeped out to
think someone else had come in the house and walked around being nosey.
6. This is my absolute favorite thing. Probably the most funny, and gross and well…EVERY
Sunday one of the elderly women in the church would ask when we were going to have a
baby, why haven’t I gotten pregnant yet, etc. It was very hard for me as we were having
issues getting pregnant, but I tried really hard to not let it bother me as I knew she wasn’t
being mean spirited about it. Well, one Sunday as David and I were standing at the door
telling everyone good bye after the service, the woman, after going through her usual speal
and me telling her we’re having issues she says this: “You know what worked for me?” And
I’m thinking, no… she won’t, will she? OH YES SHE DID!!!!!! She proceeds to tell me what
she did “both times” she got pregnant. AAAAAAAGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!
I look at David and he’s beet red, I’m sure I’M beet red and well, we just wanted the floor to
open up and swallow us. The funniest part about all of this is when I DID get pregnant and
we announced it this dear woman came up to me and says, “I told you it would work!” Sigh…
Such is life in a fishbowl!
3 thoughts on “Blub, blub, blub

Leave a Reply

