Words from Another

There are times in our lives when things happen that we just don’t understand. We don’t know why God allows us to go through things–whether it’s the death of a loved one, loss of a job, a child, a home, sudden illness, etc. There are many things that can go wrong in our lives and we often find ourselves asking God, why? When we don’t hear a definitive answer, or at least what we want to hear, we get anxious and angry and start to panic and really start to question life. We think that somehow we’ve done something wrong and if we could only get “it” right and find that “one thing” then life will right itself and we can go about our day. (Side note: I’m not talking about a person who brings trouble on himself. I’m only talking about the normal life trials.) How many times did my husband and I wonder what that “one thing” was that we need to find to make things right. You can drive yourself crazy trying to come up with that kind of stuff. When it all came down to it we knew that we had done nothing wrong, we had been obedient and we had done exactly what the Lord had asked of us. You know the verse that says, “My thoughts are not your thoughts and my ways are not your ways.” Well, how true that saying is!!!!!! God allows us to go through things. There are no easy answers, there are no easy answers, it’s just the way it is. We live in a sinful and fallen world and because of that bad things happen. Doesn’t make it easy but somehow makes a little bit more sense of things to me. 
I wanted to share a song to you that you have probably heard. It’s on the Christian radio stations all the time. It’s a hymn back in the 1800s and now has had a more contemporary tune put to it. Aaron Shust has made it popular for today. I want to close with the lyrics to this song. It’s beautiful and the words are powerful. I feel I can’t say it any better so I leave you with these words written almost two centuries ago: 

My Savior My God :
I am not skilled to understand
What God has willed, what God has planned
I only know at His right hand
Stands one who is my Savior 
I take Him at His word and deed
Christ died to save me; this I read
And in my heart I find a need
Of Him to be my savior
That He would leave His place on high
And come for sinful man to die
You count it strange, so once did I
Before I knew my Savior 
Chorus:
My Savior loves, My Savior lives
My Savior’s always there for me
My God: He was, my God: He is
My God is always gonna be
Yes, living, dying, let me bring
My strength, my solace from this spring;
That He who lives to be my King
Once died to be my Savior
That He would leave His place on high
And come for sinful man to die
You count it strange, so once did I
Before I knew my Savior
One thought on “Words from Another

Leave a Reply

