Update

Well, I’m still here. I have not vanished from life, just life in the blog world. As I sit here snow continues to fall (it appears our new town gets WAY more snow than our town in Michigan! Go figure!). We have close to a foot now, I would think. But, I find myself not minding it so much this year. Maybe because I’m not having to scrape my car in the morning and evening to get to work and then back home. Maybe because I’ve pretty much shut myself in the house as I wade through these awful weeks of nausea. Maybe, and this is probably the real reason, it’s because Cora seems fascinated by the snow and in an effort to teach her to be thankful to Jesus for all things we are daily thanking Jesus for the snow! šŸ™‚ I know, what has happened to me???? šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

Though I feel terrible, life keeps marching on. We hosted a birthday party for my sister in early November. She turned 30 and I was excited to be able to help and host this momentous occasion! šŸ™‚ We then hosted Thanksgiving at our house. I know, what was I thinking? Well, all of these things were planned BEFORE I knew I was pregnant. šŸ™‚ We had 22 people in our home, 20 of them sitting around tables eating. 2 of our munchkins are still too little so they played happily on the floor! šŸ™‚  I choked down some stuffing and green bean casserole and promptly excused myself to go nap. Thanksgiving this year also marked my eldest nieces’ SIXTH birthday!!!!! WHAT?????? How on earth she’s 6 years old I will never know! Incidentally, she was born on Thanksgiving day 6 years ago. I spent much of the day thinking back to that day. I teared up a few times thinking of how special it had been for me to be in the delivery room the moment she entered the world.

My parents treated my sister, BIL, niece, David and I to a nice dinner and show just this last weekend. We had a really great time and I loved watching my niece “float” down the grand staircase like her princesses do in her videos! šŸ™‚ We have lots of other holiday festivities coming up–Saturday we’re hosting a Christmas open house for our church people; next week is a choir concert at church and a wedding. And, I think that means the NEXT week after that is Christmas!!!!! We still have much to get done to be ready for that day!

I *think* I’m starting to round the bend as far as the nausea is concerned. I seem to be regaining some energy and am interested in eating more than just toast, crackers and pretzels. It’s been a long trimester, but it’ll officially be done Dec 29 and yes, I am counting! šŸ™‚ David has been a trouper. He’s had to pick up my slack with laundry, cleaning and cooking as well as watching Cora. Not to mention all his “normal” paid work he’s also having to do. I am so blessed to have him as my husband. We have been getting help during this time, too. David’s mom has come up a few times to do our mountains of laundry, cleaning, cooking and playing with Cora. We’ve also had a couple ladies from the church come over to help with Cora so I could rest. We could not have made it through without all of this help and are SO thankful for these women!!! I will be glad when I’m totally out of this time and able to function a lot better!

Cora has also been such a trouper. She knows Mommy doesn’t feel good and though she has become a bit insecure and more clingy to me, she has done so well. I pray for her daily to find things to occupy herself. She has willingly let me read to her for hours, and though I can quote most of her books now, it’s been a good activity for us. She is growing SO FAST!!!!!! She loses her baby look more and more every day. I can’t believe she is 20 months now. She LOVES to pray before meals and we are often told, “I pay”, which is how she says, “I pray!” She gets a very serious look on her face and tucks her chin under, holds out her hands for us to hold while we pray several times during each meal. šŸ™‚ I pray she continues to hold a sensitivity to the things of the Lord and that she never loses her desire to pray. We have always celebrated Advent in our home, using our own Advent candles. This year Cora is interested in the candles and we have taught her to say “hope” and “peace.” She’s getting it, and I can’t wait for future Christmases as these concepts start to sink in and make sense to her.

I am now 11 weeks along!!!! WOOHOOO!!!! This means I’m that much closer to the 2nd trimester! I had my 2nd OB appt yesterday and all went well. We got to see an ultrasound of the baby, who’s heart is beating well and who’s little legs are kicking furiously! šŸ™‚ Cora was there and got to see it all, though I think she was thinking more along the lines of, “why are we so excited about a blob?” šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

I hope I will not be so absent as the days go on! Thank you for sticking with me and reading this today, if you’re still out there! šŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Update

Leave a Reply

