Overwhelmed

I’m feeling so overwhelmed. I am, today, 15 weeks pregnant. With Cora by this point I was pretty much over all the sickness and ickiness of the 1st trimester. Today, I feel horrid. I don’t know what the issue is. Could be being over-tired from all the holiday stuff, could be I’m coming down with whatever other people seem to be getting, could be this pregnancy will be different, and I’m not going to feel better like I did with Cora. I don’t know yet. All I know is I feel horrid and just want to crawl in a hole and be there until I do feel better. And yet, with all of this I receive my weekly update from babycenter.com today and see that what is going on inside of me is normal, and let’s just face it, AMAZING!!!!!!!! I’m told that today my baby is about 4 in long from crown to rump and weighs about 2 1/2 oz–about the size of an apple! “Her” (we don’t know the sex yet) little lungs are developing as we speak, her legs are longer then her arms now and she can move her joints and limbs. Oh, and even though her eyelids are still fused shut she can sense light.  Truly amazing. David and I always wonder what’s more amazing–that God is doing this or that he gave man the ability to KNOW what’s happening in the womb? Either way, it’s all very much overwhelming.

On to other news: Cora! All I can think to describe this child is BUSY, BUSY, BUSY!!!!!! She is always on the go, plays hard, talks LOTS and well, is a handful!!!!!! I am daily amazed at how much she is learning, soaking in and just doing. Her vocabulary seems to grow daily and what a chatterbox she is! (You can stop laughing, Mom!) She is also testing her boundaries and asserting her will and well, we tend to have a lot of crying during the day as she doesn’t get her way when/how she wants it. I find it very challenging, and though this stage is a lot of fun, it has also been the most challenging for me. I’m sure feeling like poo has not helped the situation! Cora seems to have gone through (is going through?) a growth spurt and is now 31 lbs, and I’m not sure how tall. She is growing out of her 3T clothes and I’m guessing we’ll need 4T soon–which I was hoping we’d not need until her b-day in March. Oh well, such is life! 🙂

As I’m pregnant and have a toddler I am reminded a lot of what we must be like to the Lord. Helpless, babes, can’t do anything, really, on our own and in need of a constant Helper. As Cora asserts her will and does things on her own that she isn’t able to, and then gets horribly frustrated, I can’t help but wonder if this is what it’s like when we try to do things on our own and God says, “Hey, can I help? Can I show you how to be successful at this?” and we in turn say, “no,” throw a fit and get unnecessarily frustrated. I will close with an adorable look at my very cute little girl! 🙂

To add to the cuteness of this photo, she posed herself like this and was very insistent I take her photo! She made sure she was right in front of the Christmas tree. 🙂 


One thought on “Overwhelmed

Leave a Reply

