Quick Lunch Idea

So, I don’t know if the rest of you struggle with what to feed your family for lunch, but I sure do! See, my husband was brought up that if it wasn’t “hot” it wasn’t considered a meal, and I was brought up on “cold” pb and j, or other such sandwiches. Oddly enough, this has caused some tension over the years. Nothing serious, of course, but I guess more a differing of opinions! šŸ™‚ We have been able to agree that leftovers are just fine to eat at lunch, and occasionally I can get my husband to eat a sandwich, that isn’t hot! šŸ™‚ We’re not huge lunchmeat people and David is allergic to nuts so these pose quite the difficulties! šŸ™‚ In any case, we do agree on one such “sandwich” that is all hot, nutritious, quick and easy to prepare! šŸ™‚ I made it the other day and thought I would pass it on. I can’t take credit, though. This was introduced to me by a dear friend years ago.

Open-faced Tuna Sandwich
1 can tuna, drained
add as much mayo or mustard to make tuna salad
sliced tomato (as much as you like, I usually do 2 slices per piece of bread)
basil
cheese (shredded or sliced, whatever kind you like!)

–Get out as many slices of bread you need, put on desired amount of tuna salad on each slice; add tomatoes; sprinkle with basil; top with cheese.
–Put in 350 degree oven for about 10 minutes and enjoy! šŸ™‚

Both hot and nutritious! šŸ™‚ Everyone is happy–an added bonus! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

