How Nice

Over the weekend I thought I would host a Tupperware party. I had attended one back in January and thought it would be a good way for me to get to know some of the ladies at church better, get some free product and also break up the winter a bit. I had 10 ladies come (my mom, MIL, aunt and sister were in the crowd too!) and we had such a nice time. Now, I suppose some would say it was a risky move not inviting every single woman from church, but I say, at this church I don’t think it was a big deal. I invited the women I have gotten to know a little, who have been working with Cora in the nursery, etc and figured it was OK. You know what? I really do believe it was! We had so much fun. I felt a part of them and not just the pastor’s wife. It was nice to be a part of the group and not feel set apart because my husband is the pastor. We had a great time laughing and joking and just being women ooing and ahhing over Tupperware. What a nice change.

At our previous church I would have felt obligated (force, even) to make sure to have every single woman invited because if I didn’t it would have most certainly come back to get me or David. It would’ve been just another “thing” for the trouble-makers to use against us and so I just didn’t do things like this at our other church. The closest I came (and caught much flack for it!) was I led a woman’s Bible study every Wednesday night. And, no matter how many times it was announced from the pulpit that any and all women were welcome I was told it wasn’t nice to have a study just for a select group of my favorites. Really? I tell you this not to dwell on the past, but to show you just how nice it was to have something and not worry about how this will come back to bite us in the butt later on.

I continue to praise the Lord for his bringing us here and continue to marvel at this RICH blessings.

2 thoughts on “How Nice

Leave a Reply

