A Week of Preparation

I am so excited for this week!!!! I have a lot to get done, and I’m so excited to get to it! You see, I have 3 of my longest and dearest friends coming to visit me! Actually, four, because my sister will be here too. When we lived in Africa there was a family there with 4 kids, 3 of whom were girls. The oldest daughter–Heather–is about 3 years older than me, the next–Sherry–is my age and bestest friend and their “little” sister–Amy–is a year older than my sister and one of Ruthie’s best friends! We did a lot of hanging out, playing, swimming, sleeping over at each other’s houses when we were but mere kids! When we all returned to the USA (them to PA and us to OH) we stayed in touch with many letters (this was before the age of email), phone calls and visits. Our parents burned a lot of rubber on the turnpike! We have been in each other’s weddings, have rejoiced at the birth of each child (there are 18 kids btwn all of us–when our wee babe is born, that is!) and cried at the loss of children and other family members. We have always been there for each other and God has blessed these friendships. It’s amazing that we have stayed so close. Heather moved to CA shortly after she got married and so visits to her took us out to sunny CA–which wasn’t much of a sacrifice for us if we decided to go during the winter. 🙂 Her sister, Sherry moved to NY after getting married, and Amy has stayed in PA.

As though these reasons aren’t enough to be excited to see each other, why am I so excited??? Well, because, sadly, it’s been a long time since I’ve seen them all since adulthood. I haven’t seen Heather in 10 years! I haven’t seen Amy since my sister’s wedding (almost 7 years ago!) and Sherry since my own wedding (5 years). I can not wait to see all of them! They’ll all be coming without kids, except Amy, who just had baby #5 and she needs to be with mommy still! My sister will be joining us for the giant sleep over on Friday, and I’m sure we’ll stay up way too late, laugh until we cry and just have so much to say we won’t have any idea what exactly we’re all saying! David will be gone at a conference Fri and Sat, but he’s not too sad to be missing the extreme influx of estrogen that will descend on his home! 🙂 He will, however, have to endure a little bit Sat night and Sunday. 🙂

I’ll be sure to post photos after our visit. I’m just so excited!!!!!!

3 thoughts on “A Week of Preparation

Leave a Reply

