Making the Cake

This was the first time I had used a Wilton cake pan. I have to say I quite enjoyed it! I had always seen them, seen cakes done using them and so decided this year I’d give it a go! 🙂 The pan I used is discontinued, so I had to buy it off ebay, but no worries, it came all nice and with the instructions. The Wilton cake pans come with instructions and different variations that can be done with the pan, so essentially you can create more then one cake with the pan. I think really your imagination is the only hinderance! 🙂

I baked the cake the day before I was going to decorate it, and kept it in the refrigerator once it was cool until I was ready to decorate. It’s much easier to frost a cake that is cold. Some put their cakes in the freezer, but I find the fridge does a fine job. BE SURE to grease AND flour your cake pan!!!! You want to be sure you get to see all the nooks and crannies that you need to decorate and you want the cake to come OUT! 🙂 I also made all my frosting the day before. The pan directions will tell you how much frosting you need an what colors to make for your design. Obviously, you can change as you wish. With it all done the day before it didn’t take nearly as long to decorate! It did take me about 2 hours to get the cake decorated. With that said, here’s what it looked like as I went along:

Cake freshly out of the pan, no icing, nothing. See all the great design??

First steps were to frost the sides and then pipe in the detail.

Then I used a star tip for the “fur” and the jowls (not done in this photo) and a large star tip for the tail, ears and eyebrows.

Here it is finished. It’s not as hard as it looks, trust me! You can do it!!!
3 thoughts on “Making the Cake

  1. "It's not as hard as it looks." HA! This from a girl who has these sort of skills oozing from her pores and even took a cake decorating class to boot. Well, I will say, please compare this dog cake to my guitar cake and we will just see. 🙂 At any rate, beautifully done and it tasted wonderful!!!

Leave a Reply

