Clean Bill of Health

Cora had her 2 year check up on Friday. I had David go with me because I was feeling pretty awful pregnancy-wise and knew I wouldn’t be able to do it on my own. Cora is such a trooper! She is so attentive and watches everything the doctor does! So much so that the doctor said, “Wow! You’re long eyelashes are amazing and you’re watching every single thing I’m doing!” πŸ™‚  Cora is always fascinated with the stethoscope. She is 30 lbs and 36 inches tall!!! As the dr. said, she is more the size of an average 3 year old! πŸ™‚ What can I say? We grow big and fast in our family! She is very healthy, nothing to worry about and the doctor said she wouldn’t change anything we’re doing. πŸ™‚ HA! πŸ™‚ It’s always nice to be told you’re doing something well, because as we all know, there is no manual for parenting! Cora got 3 shots, none of which was she pleased with, but she took them bravely and stopped crying quickly. I HATE it when they have to get their shots, but I’d rather her not get the diseases/sicknesses we’re trying to prevent. We go back when she’s 2 1/2, and we’ll have baby brother in tow at that appointment! EEKKK!!!!! πŸ™‚

I was quite perturbed that we had to take an autistic survey. Obviously, Cora is NOT autistic, but it appears to be a standard thing they’re doing now, at the recommendation of the American Association of Pediatrics (or however you call it!). So, we filled it out, me grumbling the whole time, and of course she is not even close to having autism. The dr. explained that they give the survey now as it’s far more accurate then spending 10 min with a toddler and the toddler having one of those days. So, I guess I can see the point, but it was still annoying to me for some reason.

ANYWHO!!!! Cora is healthy and normal and just a fun kid! πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Clean Bill of Health

  1. Not to negate your feelings about Cora having Autism, most of my students had a rapid onset of regression that was later diagnosed as Autism. It may be very important for your doctor to have you fill out the rating scales now incase, God forbid, anything happen developmentally to her between now and age three. Ages 18 months to roughly 48 months is typically when kids start showing signs of Autism and/or regression. Anyway, it is good to see that she is doing so well and reaching all her milestones! She certainly is cute. When I saw Haddie's birthday pictures I had to do a double take, as I thought it was Cora!

Leave a Reply

