Chocolatey Goodness

I love being a stay-at-home mom! It gives me time to do things like baking and cooking without the stress of having 100 other things piling up on me because I’m working outside the home for 40+ hours a week. Granted, being pregnant has limited my energy levels and so I’m not doing as much right now as I’d like to be, but oh well! Food is still being made and eaten! 🙂 I am not the biggest cookie fan. If it’s a chocolate cookie that certainly helps, but I pretty much only like Oreos, chocolate chip cookies and no-bakes. I know, I’m boring, but that’s just the way it is. Have you ever had a no-bake cookie? I have found a new appreciation for them recently due to their simplicity and lack of colossal mess in the kitchen. It takes 1 pot, a swack of wax paper and that’s it! No-bakes are like lots of other things in that everyone has their favorite recipe. And, they can fail–if it’s too humid out I tend to not make them as they don’t seem to set up as well. In any case, they really are easy to make and are deeeeelish! 🙂 Here’s the recipe I use and have great success with.

Boil together for 5 minutes (make sure it’s a rolling boil before you start timing):
1 1/2 c sugar
1/4 c cocoa powder (more/less depending on how chocolatey you like things)
1/3 c butter or margarine
1/2 c milk
1 tsp salt

Remove from heat. Immediately add:
3 c uncooked oats
1 1/2 tsp vanilla
nuts, optional (some add peanut butter, also very  yummy!!!!)

Drop by tablespoons on waxed paper to cool or spread on cookie sheet to harden. Cut into bars. Be careful! These things are addicting! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

