Back on Campus

Tuesday I had the privilege of speaking to a group of Family and Consumer Science (FCS) students at my alma mater, Mount Vernon Nazarene University (although, when I graduated it was “only” a college). I have stayed in touch with one of my professors, and she had sent out a request to any grads who would be willing to come and share with students about how we’ve used our FCS classes since graduating. I was really excited to do so! David and I dropped Cora off at my sister’s house and then went the rest of the way to the school, stopping for dinner first. I had a lot of fun driving around campus quickly showing David where I spent 4 years of my life. Campus was very much the same, and yet there were many changes! It’s been a good 8 years since I’ve been there and so things have obviously grown/changed! We hope to go back in the not-too-distant future to take more time looking around.

Anyway, I had a great time, joining 2 other graduates, talking about life since graduation and sharing ways in which I use my classes now. It was great to see my prof again, haven’t seen her in about 8 years either so it was great to catch up with her a bit. She has been telling me about one of the FCS students having grown up in the Congo and has been trying to get us to connect. The girl was able to come last night so we were finally able to meet.

Wow! What a small world!!!!!!! Not only did this girl grow up in the Congo, her parents were with the same mission group we had been with, she lived in the capitol city for a short time (as had we) and spent a few years at the same mission station we had lived most of our time, living in “our” house!!!!!! They had also spent time at the second mission station we had been, and she and her family had toured the boarding school I had worked at for 2 years after my own college graduation! How amazing is all of that???? I find it remarkable, and when I learned she had lived in my childhood home I gave her a hug and almost started crying. This girl is about a decade younger than I and yet I felt an instant connection with her. I hope the Lord allows for us to form a friendship. Her folks are back overseas right now, so I hope over time we can have her up here and get to know her, etc. It’s so neat to see the ways the Lord works in our lives, huh?

One thought on “Back on Campus

Leave a Reply

