Preparation

There has, of course, been much preparation going on in this household! And, as we all know, it’s for the arrival of one little boy!!! I tend to write my blogs in chunks, so it’s actually Tues. when I’m writing this, and I’m scheduling it to appear on Friday. I guess at this point that can be tricky! 🙂 Who knows? This entry my be preempted by a birth announcement–wouldn’t that be nice? 🙂

It’s been interesting to see how I’ve done things differently this time around. With Cora we were living in a very small, run-down (I mean, really, it should be bull-dozed) house that was to be temporary (2 years later we moved out!!). I didn’t do much nesting because I didn’t want to get everything out only to have to repack it. In hindsight I should have just gone ahead and got everything out…It saddened me greatly with Cora that I couldn’t have a cute little room all fixed up for her. We crammed the pack-n-play in our room, and had to put her dresser and changing table in the dining room. It was not ideal, but we made it work. The little house soon filled with other necessities–like the swing and bouncy seat. We got the car seat in the van, the diaper bag packed, the hospital bag ready, etc. We were READY! Every night we had our phones and the computer charging just in case. I felt very prepared. I wasn’t too mentally prepared. I mean, I had no idea what to expect and then when it was decided to induce me I really didn’t know what to think. But, I prayed a lot, asked my sister a LOT of questions and did my best to be mentally prepared.

With a second child on the way things are different, yet the same. I feel more relaxed, you know, if everything doesn’t get done it’s not a huge deal. I mean, the insatiable need to nest is very much there. We have a spot for the baby and so it’s easy to set up the crib and the dresser (which is in the room, not the dining room!) and there is plenty of space in our home for all the baby stuff. I’ve enjoyed Cora’s “help” as we get out everything, unwrap gifts, put stuff away. It’s been good for her, I think, to be involved. I’m not sure she really gets what’s going on, but at least it won’t be a total shock for her, right?  We’ve still had to wash all the wee baby clothes and put them away. I’m over 37 weeks and the crib still needs to be set up, the car seat still needs to be put in the car and as of Tuesday our hospital bag was not packed. I have a feeling that will get done once I know for sure I’m in labor. Mentally, I’m preparing differently. This time I know the pain will be intense. I know there will be times during labor that I’ll want to give up. But, I also know that it’ll be worth all the hard work and there will be a baby at the end! This time I’m refusing induction (unless medically necessary) and so I’ve been having to refocus my mental preparation. I know that this time the pain will be natural and not medically induced. I also know that the pain will actually be doing something other than making me miserable (read Cora’s birth story). I’ve also been struggling with some different fears, but am doing my best to give those to the Lord. I don’t know if you ever really feel prepared for childbirth be it your 1st or 20th child, but at least I know kinda what to expect!

Leave a Reply

