Help! I Need Somebody!

The past 6 weeks have obviously been different in our house with the arrival of Ben. It’s been a good 6 weeks, a changing 6 weeks and certainly trying at times. It’s probably been the hardest for Cora. Though she has been so sweet, gentle and loving towards her brother she has decided to take her displeasure out on David and I. It’s been hard. I’ve been frustrated, and at times beyond frustrated. I have had to remind myself many times that she’s 2 and it’s hard for her to understand all this change. It’s been very difficult to deal with the disobedience, defiance and down right obstinate attitude (being sleep deprived has certainly not helped!). I see in her such a sweet nature and tender heart, but unfortunately she seems to have acquired my temper and her father and I’s strong wills and stubbornness. Sigh…

Today I was feeling especially weary of her constant telling me “NO!” and also knew that I needed to get back to having a regular quiet time/Scripture-reading time. I asked the Lord this morning to remind me when Cora was napping to pick up my Bible and read. He did, and I’m glad. As I’ve been feeling frustrated and helpless with how to deal with a 2 year old and an infant I thought I would turn to the Psalms. They always offer me encouragement and are often salve to my soul. I turned to what I thought was a random Psalm and this is where I landed:

Psalm 121–I lift up my eyes to the hills. From where does my help come? My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.  

The whole Psalm was helpful to me but especially the first verse. I encourage you to read the whole Psalm–it’s short, only 8 verses. “My help comes from the Lord.” After I read this I prayed, “Lord, you made the heavens and the earth. I know you can help me know how to deal with my daughter, whom I love very much. Show me how to raise her and love her and help her during this time of transition.”  

I know we still have a lot of growing and adjusting ahead of us, but I also know my help comes from the LORD. Praise the Him for that!

One thought on “Help! I Need Somebody!

Leave a Reply

