But, You’re the Pastor’s Kid!

Long before David and I had children we determined we would not tell our children they had to do something because their dad is the pastor. Instead, we want to instill in our children that we do the right thing because it’s what Jesus would have us do, because it’s the right thing to do and has nothing to do with Daddy’s job. I’ve been tested on this lately.

Due to a sudden influx of young children in our church our Christian Education Board has had to add a couple Sunday school classes. Cora is in the 2 year old class, or she would be if she would go. That’s right, the pastor’s daughter is not interested in going to Sunday school. I have struggled with this because I want my child to go to Sunday school, and after all she’s the pastor’s daughter! But, I have had to stop myself from making it a big deal (or any kind of deal, really) because you know what? She’s two. She’s had a lot of change in the past few months and whether or not she goes to Sunday school right now just isn’t worth the fight. And, I want Sunday school to be something she looks forward to, not something she dreads. So, right now, she will sit with me in church, will always be given the option to go to Sunday school, but I will not force her to go. I have to ask myself, “If she wasn’t the pastor’s daughter how would I be handling this situation?” This small situation has caused David, and especially me, to pause and remember the promise we made to ourselves and our children that they will not have to do things simply because their father is the pastor.

Leave a Reply

