A New Year

Here we are in the year 2012! How did that happen? As a child I figured by this point we’d be using flying cars, able to shuttle back and forth to the moon for vacation as we do the Caribbean now. I saw on facebook this week, with a photo from the movie, “Back to the Future,” saying, “I know the world is NOT going to end in 2012 because Marty McFly travelled to 2015.” I thought that was funny and it made me chuckle when I read it!

I have stopped making the ever-looming New Year’s resolution. It seems when I do I’m only setting myself up for failure, and then I spend way too much time and mental energy feeling guilty for not accomplishing my resolution. Instead, the last several years I’ve thought of things I can/need to improve in my life and have asked the Lord to reveal things I may not have realized. I then ask him to help me grow in the areas I’m lacking and help me overcome the areas that need overcoming. I have found it to be so much more satisfying and successful. I mean, to me, a resolution is something I’m doing on my own. For myself, personally, when I have invited the Lord to show me where I need the help, and then accept his help, I find I’m far more successful and grow in my faith. I suppose, now that I write all of that, it would appear I am making resolutions, just using different words to describe them! Ah well. In my mind they’re not resolutions, and that’s all that matters, right? 🙂

This year I am striving to do a better job at spending quality time with the Lord on a daily basis. I have much I need to work on, but I feel that until I get back to having a personal quiet time with the Lord I can not effectively work on those areas.

I’m also planning to spend this next year doing more experimenting with different recipes that DON’T include wheat, soy or corn–specifically bakery stuff. I want to find more ways to creatively cook veggies and meat and make wholesome meals for my family that we’ll all enjoy.

How do you go about making changes in your life? Do you have a list (physical or mental)? Do you tell someone for accountability? Do you stick to the goals you set for yourself, or do you “fail” and then spend time feeling guilty about it? However you go about making changes I hope you’re successful and that 2012 will be a wonderful year for you!

Oh, and today I am 34… 🙂

Leave a Reply

