Laundry Detergent

This is so easy, folks. Shame on me for not doing this sooner. What was I thinking? I have wanted to make my own laundry detergent for a couple of years now and kept putting it off. I don’t know why. Just insert any excuse here _____. BUT! finally, I have done it! And, people, it took me about 5 minutes from start to finish including sweeping some off the floor. Brother. Why have I not done this sooner???? In any case, it’s done, I’m using it, and it works great! Our family doesn’t like scent in our detergent and our clothes come out simply smelling clean, no other smells (good or bad!). And, it has made our clothes look clean, has gotten stains out without the aid of stain remover. Probably the kicker of all this? It cost me $7 and some odd change. That’s right. I’ve been buying “All Free and Clear,” the 90 load bottle, and it is usually about $14.00 (sometimes it’s on sale for less). This lasts me about 3 months. I have a feeling my homemade detergent is going to last at least double that amount of time! Making your detergent comes out to about 3 cents a load where as the store-bought is 75 cents a load. Never mind all the chemicals you will NOT be putting on your clothes and then on your skin.

If you search “homemade laundry detergent” you’ll get a plethora of options for recipes. There are certainly variations and you can choose powder or liquid but they all seem to have 3 ingredients in common–Borax, Washing Soda and Fels Naptha. I chose a very simple recipe for the powder kind. I have a front loading machine and homemade detergent is totally safe for it.

So, here are photos of the ingredients (because, honestly, who knows what Fels Naptha is anyway???) and the process! I really encourage you to try this. It truly is SO EASY and so worth the savings in money and an easy way to get chemicals out of your house!

You can find all of these ingredients in the laundry detergent aisle at Walmart. Washing Soda is NOT baking soda.

Grate the Fels Naptha. I used my food processor but a hand grater will work too. Kinda looks like cheddar cheese, huh?

Open the boxes of Borax and Washing Soda. Dump in a large mixing bowl. Add the shredded Fels Naptha. Mix with a spoon.

It's always helpful to have a lovely assistant! 🙂

I had a Tupperware container I wasn't using that I put it all in. I wrote on the lid how much is needed. I also bought a cheap set of measuring spoons, kept the tablespoon for myself and gave the rest to Cora to use in her play kitchen.

4 thoughts on “Laundry Detergent

  1. Pingback: A Few Updates « Ponderings from a Pastor's Wife

    • No, I don’t consider them chemicals in the commercial way and understanding we have of chemicals today. They are natural. Wikipedia has great definitions of them. Water is a chemical compound but totally natural. I say this with the exception of the Fels Naptha. However, it’s a simple soap and not laden with all the junk that commercial laundry detergent is. By grating the Fels Naptha you lessen the strength of it, but not enough that it’s not useful. You can, though, use a different kind of bar soap, such as Dove or Ivory if you don’t want the strength of the Fels Naptha.

Leave a Reply

