Veggies? TASTY?

That’s right! Here at the Hardin home we’ve been experimenting with different ways to cook our veggies. We knew when we started this new eating style we would not be able to handle it if our veggies only came to the table steamed in the microwave. Thus began the process of getting our creative juices flowing as we tried to come up with new ways (at least for us!) to cook veggies. I’m pleased to say we have been successful! I have found that if you have onions, garlic (cloves, not the powder!), butter, salt and pepper you can make just about anything taste good! I also use a lot more olive oil–it’s way healthy of you and gives food a great flavor as well. So, what are some of our favorites?

Zucchini sauteed with olive oil, salt and pepper. Green beans with butter, salt, pepper, onions, garlic and fresh mushrooms. Roasted sweet potatoes coated with olive oil, salt, pepper and a little cayenne pepper. To add to steak I often do butter, onions and mushrooms–YUM! In our house the only person who truly likes peas is Cora–go figure! But, last night I thought I would try to make them a little better, or at least try! I sauteed them in butter, onion, garlic, salt and pepper. The verdict was that they were definitely better this way, but still not David and my favorite veggie.

Folks, your imagination is your only limit. I have had to use my imagination, try out new things and do a lot of experimenting. Often we love the results, sometimes there are some duds. The important thing is trying and getting your family to eat more veggies and not just steam them. I want to do more roasting of veggies as those are always a hit and are just so darn good! And, I can’t wait to grill veggies this summer! So, yes, veggies are good for us and they CAN be tasty! What are some of your favorite ways to cook veggies?

Leave a Reply

