What I’m Reading…

It’s been a long time since I’ve read a good ol’ novel. I used to go to the library and leave with 10 books and in 2 weeks go back for more. That was, of course, before I had children! However, I love to read. I used to hate it. I remember in 3rd grade being dragged to the library and my dad telling me I had to find ONE book to take home. I’m glad he “made” me do this. I now love to read. I love to read to my kids, and I love to see that Cora, at least right now, seems to love books too. Anyway…There are a few things I’m reading right now.

I recently read the book The Devil in Pew Number Seven by Rebecca Nichols Alonzo. Wow. Hit very close to home. It’s about a pastor and his family who endure horrendous trials at a church. Though we did not have these atrocities done to us, and we all came out of it alive (literally), I did find myself relating to the fear and uncertainties this family dealt with. It’s a good book, very well written, and it IS a true story. But, it’s a troubling book. It’s hard to believe humans can treat each other so horribly.

Another book I’m reading is Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon. It’s a thick book, FULL of so much information on eating holistically, healthily, and includes recipes. It’s taking me a bit of time to get through this one as there is just so much information in it. I find it all fascinating. I don’t want to just be told to eat this or that, I want to know why and the benefits this or that food has to my body. I look forward to trying out the recipes. I’ll share the ones we try!

A book I WILL be going through is Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child by Marc Weissbluth, M.D. Why am I reading this? Well…I am having a hard time figuring out how to get Ben to sleep through the night. Cora was so easy–I mean she was sleeping through the night around 10 weeks. I know Cora is more the exception in this case, but nonetheless, I need help! With Cora we used Baby Wise and it worked wonders with Cora. But with Ben? Not so much. So, Healthy Sleep Habits, Happy Child was recommended to me by another mom, and I’m going to give it a read and see how this one helps! What can I say? I need my sleep!

What are you reading these days?

One thought on “What I’m Reading…

  1. 1. Good to Great by Jim Collins. My new boss gave us a list of 4 books he wanted us to read, and this was the only one the base library had on CD, so I’m tackling it first. I listen to it while I commute. I like it so much that I bought the book, and when I get home I highlight my favorite things that I heard that day. It’s about businesses that have a sustained (15+ years) streak of phenomenal success, which I find fascinating, and the lessons on leadership can be applied by anyone who has a team they work with. Biblical principal that it validates: the good-to-great companies’ CEOs were not the flamboyant, showy CEOs that got a lot of press – they are all humble, hard workers who keep the good of the company foremost in their minds.

    2. The Original Document by Glenn Beck. This one is going a little slower; he takes The Federalist Papers (a series of newspaper articles written to explain and defend the Constitution before its ratification) and puts them into today’s language. I can only read so much at one time, but it is good and interesting, and helps when defending the Constitution to people who don’t get it.

    3. NKJV Chronological Study Bible published by Thomas Nelson. My husband and I read a little bit most nights before bed. It puts the Bible in approximate chronological order, and has a LOT of notes and side-boxes talking about archeological finds that support Biblical information and things like that. Fascinating! It’s fun to read the Bible in a different way.

Leave a Reply

