Holy Week

As it always seems the case, this week has been extra crazy in our home. For a pastor the week of Christmas and Easter are by far the 2 busiest weeks of the year for a pastor–at least that’s been our experience. It’s been hard for me to focus on what this week is. On Sunday, we celebrate Palm Sunday, Jesus’ triumphal entry into Jerusalem. The people loved him just days ago and today we observe the crucifixion of our Lord. I’ve always wondered what happened in those 5 days. One day Jesus is being exalted and in less than a week he’s being nailed to a cross. It has never made sense to me. The only thing I know is that this was God’s plan and it doesn’t have to make sense to me. What I need to know, and understand, is that God loves me (and YOU!) so much he sent his one and only son to the world as a baby, and then as a man in his 30s allowed for him to be crucified on a cross. Why? So that I didn’t have to take the punishment for my sins. Christ died so I didn’t have to. Christ took the beatings, the lashes, the mocking, the betrayal so I didn’t have to. He did all of this, dying the death of a criminal so I could chose to follow him and live eternally with him in heaven on day. Wow. That, my friend is love. There is no greater love than this.

If you do not yet know Jesus as your personal Lord and Savior please ask me, or someone else you know who is a Christian. Please do not go another Good Friday without knowing the Lord and turning your life over to him.

One thought on “Holy Week

Leave a Reply

