Pin Head

Well, I’ve caved. I finally did it. I have fallen to peer pressure and have joined the masses on Pintrest. I know, how could I be so easily swayed? It took me a while but now that I’m on it I LOVE it and wonder what took me so long! I have found all sorts of interesting things from beautiful places on earth one only sees in her dreams to cake ideas I’d like to try. I’ve also found it a great resource for finding recipes that are wheat/corn/soy free.

One such recipe I made on Saturday for brunch and was pretty impressed. It is a recipe for oatmeal pancakes. I wasn’t sure what to expect as they have oats and cottage cheese in them. I figured they’d be heavy and chewy. I was quite pleased they weren’t heavy or chewy and had a good taste. I love pancakes and have really missed them so I was happy about all this. My husband and daughter weren’t as sold, but I’ll keep working on them! I will say, though, the next time I make them I’m going to add salt. I just felt the pancakes were screaming for some salt! And, I think you could do nutmeg rather than cinnamon, or maple rather than vanilla. I think there are endless possibilities!

OATMEAL PANCAKES

Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth:

6 egg whites

1 cup rolled oats                                                                                                                    

1 cup cottage cheese

2 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. vanilla  

Cook in a heated/greased skillet as you would “normal” pancakes! Enjoy!!!           

Leave a Reply

