Hummus

I bought The Pioneer Woman’s new cookbook from Amazon and it came in the mail the other day. I spent a while reading through it (her cookbooks read like a book, she’s full of witty commentary, descriptions, etc.) seeing what culinary delicacies await us! I have her 1st one too and we have loved it–I’ve made several of the recipes and we’ve like every single one of them! Anyway, I’ve been wanting to try my hand at making hummus. I’ve heard it’s really easy, but I just haven’t done it yet. Well, I saw that the PW had a recipe in her new cookbook, and so I figured I’d give it a go! It makes a ton (about 4 cups?), is cheaper to make then buy (I priced it out. For the quantity it’s definitely cheaper), and it is SO GOOD!!!! I highly recommend making this! In any case, without further adieu, here is the recipe!

Hummus

(3) 14.5 oz cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans)

3 garlic cloves, peeled

Juice of 2 lemons

1/2 cup tahini

1/2 tsp. ground cumin, or more to taste

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, or more to taste

1/2 tsp. salt, or more to taste

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1/2 to 1 cup cold water

2 Tbsp. olive oil

1. Drain and rinse the chickpeas and throw them into the blender. (I used my food processor)

2. Add the garlic, lemon juice, tahini, cumin, cayenne, salt, and pepper.

3. Blend the mixture, pouring in cold water as you go, starting with 1/2 cup and adding more as needed to get the consistency you want.

4. You may have to stop and give it a stir if the mixture becomes too thick. Just keep adding a little water here and there until it’s right.

5. At the end, add the olive oil and give it a final pulse. Taste the hummus to make sure the seasoning is right.

6. Eat with carrots, cucumbers, olives, crackers, breadsticks, chips, whatever!

2 thoughts on “Hummus

  1. I just went onto her website and picked 6 recipes to try this week. Can’t wait! Making tortilla soup tonight

Leave a Reply

