Chocolate Cake

Folks, chocolate cake is my favorite dessert. Chocolate cake is probably the 1 thing I have missed the most since being on my new diet/way of eating. I have been so discouraged, and I know it must seem silly that chocolate cake would affect me in such a way. I just love it! What more can I say? Well, since joining Pintrest I have been able to find a lot of recipes and ways of cooking food that are good for our health and won’t give me belly pain! I found a recipe the other day and was quite skeptical. I mean, really, how can chocolate cake be good without flour (any kind), baking soda or baking powder? I was sure it would be rubbery, flat, chewy, anything but good. Well, I am here to tell you I was mistaken–and SO happy to be so!! I have made this cake 2x now. It’s so good!! It comes together very quickly and because you cook it in the microwave you can enjoy it quickly. And, dare I say it? It’s healthy!! It’s moist, spongy, rich (seriously, it’s a GREAT chocolate fix) and delicious! I’m so happy I discovered this pin. My life will be forever changed. Ok, I exaggerate, but only a little! I shall now stop rambling and give you the recipe of this delectable treat and let you find out for yourself how grand this is!!! Here is the original pin, incase you’re interested!

1 ripe banana (the riper the better, like what you’d use for banana bread)

2 Tbsp. almond butter (I’ve been using peanut butter because I don’t have almond yet)

1 egg

2 heaping Tbsp. cocoa powder

2 tsp. sugar, honey or other sweetener, if you want (the ripe banana should be sweet enough)

Mix it all together (make sure the banana is mushed up really well) and put in an UNgreased souffle bowl or a mug. Microwave for 2 to 2 1/2 min. Presto! It’s done!! You may need to adjust the time according to your microwave (like I’m only doing it for 1 1/2-2 min). You’ll want it to cool a little (if you can!) because it’s PIPING hot right out of the microwave! You can dress it up with nuts, dried fruit, chocolate chips, whipped cream, ice cream, etc. I think the possibilities are endless! Enjoy! And, eat without feeling guilty!

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake

  1. Pingback: A Few Updates « Ponderings from a Pastor's Wife

    • You can definitely taste the banana, but I wouldn’t say it’s over-powering. And, I made one tonight, didn’t add any sweetener, it really needs at least a little sweetener (sugar, honey, something!). Hope you try it! I think you’d really like it!

  2. Pingback: Catherine Marie Cruise in Annapolis, Maryland–Cake Conflict | dorothyadele's customer experience with retail, dining and travel

Leave a Reply

