Another New Dish

I know I’ve been doing a lot of recipes lately, but I want to share with you the things we’ve been making in our home in hopes of giving you inspiration, encouragement, etc. I know how hard it is to come up with something new and different that is HEALTHY and tastes good too! It’s a challenge, for sure! Because I’m having issues finding things (like sauces, salad dressings, mix pkts, etc) that I can eat, I’ve had to be creative and come up with my own concoctions. Also, I find chicken to be a meat that is hard to be creative with. I don’t know why. To me it can be so bland and is easily over-cooked. One night about a month ago I had a stroke of genius–well, that’s what my husband thought! I wanted to marinate the chicken in something but didn’t have any Italian salad dressing (most salad dressings are made with soybean oil and/or corn oil!) I could use so I looked around in the pantry and here’s what I came up with. Now, the thing about cooking is it’s totally versatile! You can mix and match, add, subtract. There’s no right or wrong way (usually!). So, if you don’t like the oil or herbs I used do what you and your family would like! However, I think my husband and I would both agree that the red wine vinegar is what really makes this work! Oh, and my 3 year old and 11 month old eat.this.up!

Mix in a bowl:

some olive oil (about 3 Tbsp.)

red wine vinegar (about 3 Tbsp.)

salt/pepper

oregano

basil

garlic (I pressed mine fresh)

onion powder (I’ve made it w/out this and it’s just as good!)

Add to the bowl onion (chopped large), tomatoes (in wedges), whole mushrooms, anything else you want!

Add the chicken breasts.

Use hands to mix it all around so the marinade coats the veggies and chicken really well. Put chicken in lightly greased 9×13 pan. Pour veggies and marinade over chicken. Bake at 375 for about 20-25 min! ENJOY!!!!!!! Prepare for no leftovers!

Leave a Reply

