Brownies!

Can you believe I’ve found a recipe for brownies that I can eat and not feel guilty eating? Well, I HAVE! Again, Pintrest to the rescue (I’m telling you, it has become such a source of recipes for me!!)! These brownies are moist, chocolatey and oh so yummy!!! My husband thought they were pretty good (he must have, he at 2 right away!) and well, I thought they were excellent! Part of my enthusiasm could be knowing I can eat them, and they won’t hurt me. In any case, I encourage you to at least try them! What can it hurt, and you might find a healthier (no grain or oil), and very yummy substitute for your usual brownie recipe!

The original recipe is here on this blog. I did make a couple changes. I truly believe she left out cocoa in her recipe, as a typo. I added 2 Tbsp. of cocoa, and I did NOT add the nutmeg or cinnamon–I just can’t imagine brownies with those 2 spices in them! Also, she said she shredded and then cut the zucchini so it was really small. Here’s what I did: I used my food processor. I left the chopping blade in the bottom and added the shredding blade to the top. This way the zucchini was first shredded and then chopped. The result was really good, although be careful because you can get zucchini soup really fast! ANYWAY! Without further ado, here’s the recipe! I hope you enjoy!

Zucchini Brownies 

1 1/2 c shredded/chopped zucchini (about 2 zucchini)

1 cup almond butter (you can buy or make–see my previous post for how to make)

1 egg

2 Tbsp cocoa powder

1/3 cup honey

1 tsp vanilla

1 tsp cinnamon (I omitted)

1/2 tsp nutmeg (I omitted)

1 cup mini chocolate chips (I used semi-sweet, she calls for dark, which I couldn’t find)

–Preheat oven to 350 F.

–Mix all ingredients in a bowl and put into a 9 x 9 (or 8 x 8) square baking pan.

–Bake 35-45 min (I did 40 min. I think it depends on how wet your zucchini is)

–ENJOY!!!!

2 thoughts on “Brownies!

  1. Pingback: Grain Free Brownies | Ponderings from a Pastor's Wife

  2. Pingback: A Few Updates « Ponderings from a Pastor's Wife

Leave a Reply

