My Dad

My dad is turning 60 years old on Sunday! I’m having a hard time wrapping my brain around that. I’m not old enough to have a dad who’s 60! My dad is only in his 30s, and I’m still his little girl, right? Actually, I’m in MY 30s with a little girl (and boy!) now. Ah, I guess time has marched on whether we wanted it to, or not! I have to say, I have a hard time seeing my parents as being this age. They are so young at heart, so active physically and socially, and just don’t look 60 to me. But, there you have it, Dad will be 60! (Sorry, Dad, am I rubbing it in too much?) We’ll be celebrating tomorrow with the whole family, and it’ll be a combined party with my uncle, who I think is also turning 60! Should be a fun day!

I love my dad. He’s my hero, a man who strives to follow the Lord, a man who has always lead his family to follow the Lord. He has always put God first, my mom 2nd and then my sister and I. I don’t remember a time when I felt Dad was putting work or play before us, his family. He’s generous, hard-working, great with this grandkids and he’s fun! He was never disappointed to have 2 girls and no boys (although when we lived in Africa the African men told him he needed to get him a new wife to provide him with sons. Dad tried to explain that its the MAN who determines the sex of a child, but they thought he was joking). He bought us matchbox cars to play with, wrestled with us, taught us how to change a tire and how to burn trash (much to my mom’s horror!). Just because we were girls didn’t mean he was going to check out. He made me feel like a princess, and I never once doubted my dad’s love for God, my mom or us girls. He was/is a great example of the man I wanted to marry (and am so thankful God blessed me with such a man).

I love you Dad and hope you have a VERY happy birthday!

See, he doesn’t look 60, does he?

 

2 thoughts on “My Dad

  1. No he doesn’t!!! He looks great! And I must say that I admire the way that you did not once use the old in your blog except once when you said he was going to be 60 years old, but that you can’t believe where the time has gone !! I would like to say that he is going to be 60 years young:):)

    Happy Birthday to your Dad!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

