A Few Updates

I have done several posts of different recipes and DIY stuff the past several months. I thought I would give you some updates on them so you can see what I’ve learned about these things and little tricks I’ve discovered. The titles of each thing is a link to the original post where you can get the recipes.

Laundry Detergent–This has been one of THE best things I’ve done! Wow! If you’re not making your own laundry detergent you should! It takes all of 5 minutes to make (if you use a food processor for grating the Fels Naptha it’s shorter) and is so worth it! One batch lasted us 7 months. For $7 we had laundry detergent for 1/2 the year. That means, we’re spending $14 a year on laundry detergent! You can’t do much better than that! How are our clothes? CLEAN and FRESH smelling! I wasn’t sure how it would go, but I have been pleasantly surprised. I will no longer purchase commercial grade laundry detergent. It’s just not worth it! What are you waiting for???? Go to Wal-mart and get the ingredients and start using it NOW!

Zucchini Brownies–I have made these countless times now. My husband LOVES them, so much so that he told me he’s perfectly fine with them being our brownies! The first time I made them they were VERY moist, really just plain soggy. So, I did some thinking and remembered zucchini holds a lot of moisture. After I shred and chop (done all at once in my food processor) I put the zucchini in a strainer and let it sit for at least 30 min. (although I’ve be in a hurry before and did it for about 10 and that helped a lot!). You would be amazed at how much liquid comes off! After doing this the texture was a lot better, more brownie-esque and not soggy. If you’re not making these, you should be! Especially if you have a garden with an over-abundance of zucchini. It’s a great way to use it up and a fantastic way to get veggies into your family without them realizing–unless you tell them, which I would suggest doing AFTER they rave about how fantastic these are!

Chocolate Mug Cake–I have also made this countless times. It has really helped me with my chocolate cake (or just chocolate) cravings. I was first making it with peanut butter (have since discovered I can’t have peanut butter), but made my own almond butter and realized this cake is so much better with the almond butter. Also, one day I was out of bananas, but had avocado, so thought “why not?” And, it was so good!!!!! Especially if you don’t like banana flavor. The avocado gives no added flavor to the cake and I thought it made the cake silkier. And, it’s healthy and good for those who can’t have grain or dairy as it has neither! Again, if you’re not making this, you should! It’s so good and you won’t regret it!

One thought on “A Few Updates

Leave a Reply

