Fudge Pudding Cake

Yesterday I showed you photos of my kids enjoying a tasty dessert, which is long gone. I grew up eating this dessert in Africa. I suppose because the ingredients were easy to come by, and it’s easy to make! We would often eat it in a bowl with some milk (powdered–YUCK!) on it. I made this dessert several times when David and I were first married but haven’t for a long time. Then, with all my new eating restrictions I certainly haven’t. However, recently, I bought some wheat/corn/soy free flours and wanted to try something out. I tried this fudge pudding cake. YUM! Some call it “magic cake.” It’s a yummy cake, whatever you call it! You make a batter first, spread it on the bottom of the pan. Then you sprinkle brown sugar and cocoa on top and finish by pouring hot water on all of that and sticking it in the oven. What you get is divine chocolatey goodness! What happens is you get chocolate pudding on the bottom with chocolate cake on top. It’s very cool and though I don’t understand the science behind it I think it’s really neat! Anyway, I’ll write the recipe as it is originally. Just know that rather than regular flour I used an almond blend flour and coconut oil. So, without further ado, the cake!

FUDGE PUDDING CAKE

1 c flour                        2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp salt                   3/4 c sugar

2 Tbsp cocoa powder     1/2 c milk

2 Tbsp oil                      1 c nuts (optional)

Spread the above in a 9″ pan, and then mix 1 c brown sugar and 4 Tbsp cocoa powder. Sprinkle on top of dough. Pour 1 3/4 cup hot water over entire batter. Bake 45 min. at 350 degrees F. Best if served warm. ENJOY!

Leave a comment