Wheat Free Pizza Crust

I have been trying out different flours so I can eat pizza, cookies, cakes, etc. Things I’ve really missed in the past year. Things I don’t plan to eat a lot of, but things I’d like to get some good go-to recipes so when the hankerin’ comes I have something to go to and not get sick in the process! I’m not sure if this is THE way we’ll be eating our pizza, but it was a great first attempt! I’m learning I need to re-train the way I think about dough, cakes, etc. Non-wheat flour acts and reacts differently than wheat flour. It’ll be a fun adventure, and I’m looking forward to the outcomes! ANYWAY! Here is the pizza crust I did. It’s from The Pioneer Woman‘s first cookbook. I’ve made this recipe many times. We love it, and it’s so easy and good to make! The other night I made it by adding a mixture of brown rice flour and almond blend flour. We enjoyed it! It was good! My HUSBAND liked it very much and between the 4 of us we ate 1/2 the pizza! I managed to remember to take photos of all this so I’ll do the photos and explain some differences I noticed, and oh! the recipe!

Pizza Crust

4 c flour (I used non-wheat flour)

1 tsp salt

1/3 c olive oil

1 tsp dry yeast

1 1/2 c warm water

–Mix the yeast into the warm water in a separate bowl.

–Put flour and salt in mixing bowl with kneading hook attachment. Slowly drizzle the olive oil into the flour until incorporated.

–Add the warm water/yeast mixture to the dry ingredients until mixed together. You can also mix by hand if need be. I ended up using the mixer for most of it and then had to use my hands for the rest. But! No need to knead the dough!

–Cover and let rise for 1 hr. You can also put in fridge at this point (before rising) for 1-2 days, or put in freezer. I’ve done all 3 options with great success!

–Preheat oven to 500 F; assemble pizza as you desire. Be sure to put on a well-greased pizza pan (olive oil is a great choice!). Bake for 10 min! Enjoy!

This is the dough after an hour of rising. It’s really not any larger than when I started. I’m guessing it’s the different flour because I’ve never had this recipe not rise before. It was slightly bouncier than before but not much. This crust is supposed to do 2 thin crust pizzas, but I just used all of it for 1 this time, and it was a good amount.

This is the dough all spread out. It reminded me of the consistency of play-doh or that moon dough stuff. I was a little concerned that it would be really crumbly and dry, but it wasn’t!

This shows how thick the crust was. It was cooked through, not doughy and was just really, really good. We enjoyed it and it was my first pizza in a YEAR! I really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

