Wacky Cake!

Have I done this one before? If so, it must have been a long time ago because I don’t remember! Growing up in the jungles and savanas of Africa means we didn’t always have every ingredient needed to make basic things, like chocolate cake, or pancakes, or cereal! Where we lived eggs were hard to come by for some reason. When we did get them it was a huge treat and we would save them as long as possible. My mom had to often use dry eggs (YUCK) for recipes. But, they’re gross to eat for breakfast. She had a recipe for a chocolate cake which didn’t take eggs. I never did write that recipe down (what child would think of that?). When I moved to Cameroon as an adult (barely an adult, I was 23) I came across the recipe, or at least something that was very similar! In this cookbook it was called “wacky cake.” I just love the name. I can’t even tell you how many times I made it in those 2 yrs in Cameroon. I’ve also made it in the USA because it’s just so good! You would never know it’s made without eggs! It comes together fast, is not a finicky cake and is very delicious! I’ve added chocolate chips to it making it even better! I had to make a dessert for a church function and made this cake. I can’t eat it now, with the wheat flour and all, but I since I know it’s good and didn’t have a ton of time I thought it would be great for everyone else! So, here ya go! The original recipe only makes a 9×9 square, or 12 cupcakes, so in parentheses I’ve put the measurements for a 9×13. I hope you make this often and ENJOY it! (I will be experimenting with other flours so I can eat it…)

WACKY CAKE 

Combine:

1 2/3 c flour (3 1/3 c)

1/3 c cocoa powder (2/3 c)

1 tsp baking soda (2 tsp)

1/2 tsp salt (1 tsp)

1 c sugar (2 c)

Add and mix well:

1 c water (2 c)

5 Tbsp oil (1/2 c + 2 Tbsp)

1 tsp vanilla (2 tsp)

1 Tbsp vinegar (2 Tbsp)

Grease and flour a 9×9 (9×13). Bake at 350 F for 30 min.

Leave a Reply

