My Firstborn

My firstborn is Cora. She is 3 years and 7 months old. Every day she grows taller, more beautiful, and just plain older. It’s been interesting having an older child while being so sick during pregnancy. I was a bit nervous as to how it was all going to work out, already having 2 kids and not being able to fully function. However, Cora has been GREAT! She has come into her role as the older child and is also becoming quite the mommy. She has been such an encouragement to me lately, and I just wanted to share!

She helps with her brother–getting her and him snacks, or reaching things for him. She is also playing so nicely with them, and I LOVE watching her imagination take them on all sorts of adventures while he just happily toddles after her!

She is so compassionate. This is not a surprise, this is a quality we saw in her early on. However, she is older and more able to show that compassion in specific ways. DAILY she says to me, “Mommy, I’m so sorry your tummy hurts.” Or, “Mommy, I’m so sorry you don’t feel good.” She’ll rub my cheek to help soothe my yuckiness away or bring me her stuffed animals because “they will help [me] feel better.”

She loves her new baby already. EVERY day she will lay her head on my belly and say, “I love you, Baby!” Or, “Mommy, I love your little baby.” I melts my heart and helps me to find joy in the journey. Yes, she’s going to be a great older sister to 2 siblings. And, I can’t wait to see all THREE of our children interacting and playing together.

3 thoughts on “My Firstborn

  1. Such precious moments for you to share. Big sister stepping up to the plate to help. This one brought tears to my eyes as I thought about the tenderness of such a young heart. Indeed, this is a joyful memory along your journey.

Leave a Reply

