Christmas in Many Parts

This year Christmas snuck up on me. I felt like I turned the corner and it popped out and said, “Boo! I’m here!” I’m sure this had to do with me feeling awful and all that sort of thing. We managed to get the tree and stockings up but that was it. Oh, and I did make a batch of chocolate fudge and a batch of almond butter fudge. That was all I did. Part of me liked it, the simplicity of it all. But, Cora was really into Christmas this year and “getting it” so I also felt terrible not having the energy to really do a lot. There’s always next year, right?

In any case, we had our many Christmas celebrations again this year. I was very thankful we were done with them by the day after Christmas and didn’t have to go on to New Year. We celebrated with David’s mom and step dad the week before Christmas.

 

IMG_2060

We have made it a bit of a tradition to prepare a fancy dinner on Christmas Eve and share it with whomever–usually my parents–is with us that evening. This year I told David that was fine, but he’d probably have to do it all. Let me tell you! I have a fabulous husband who is a fantastic cook too! He prepared a DELICIOUS prime rib, roasted green beans with almond slivers and craisins, mashed potatoes, crescent rolls, and burgundy¬†mushrooms. It was all so delicious and I was thankful for all his hard work! He even concocted his own horseradish sauce for the meat! We had his dad and step mom, my parents and my grandma all crowded around the table. It was a good time followed by a beautiful Christmas Eve service.

IMG_2069 IMG_2077 IMG_2083

David’s dad and step mom came up and spent Christmas day with us and got to watch the kids open their gifts on Christmas morning.

IMG_2128 IMG_2133

We hosted my side of the family (immediate and aunts/uncles/cousins) at our church this year. That turned out to be a lot of fun and gave us so much more room! There are getting to be over 20 of us (7 of whom are kids 8 and under) and none of our houses are big enough to hold us all. This worked well and everyone had a great time!

We then celebrated with my parents, grandma and sister/BIL/nieces/nephew the day after at my parents. We ended up cutting that short because a huge storm came and we decided not to get stuck. What should have been an easy 30 min drive home was a very difficult, dangerous 1 hour drive. We were so thankful to get home!!!

IMG_2160 IMG_2174

We had a good Christmas, were blessed to be with all of our family and were blessed with wonderful gifts! It’s hard to think that next year our family will be plus 1 and so will my sister’s!

I think Ben speaks for all of us on how tired we were after all of our celebrating!

IMG_0060

Leave a Reply

