You are what you eat!

It’s true, you know, you are what you eat. This has become more and more true to us as a family over the last year+ since making our dietary changes. We have found certain foods will promote certain attitudes or actions/reactions. I have not had oats in over a year. Last week I thought, “hey, this granola I made is so good, I think I’ll have a bowl of it. Oats have been out of my system for over a year, I’ll be OK!” WRONG. WRONG. WRONG! I was SO not OK! I turned into a jerk, a monster, a snapping dragon. I was terrible! We have long learned that grains do this to me and well, apparently they still do! So, it took all week for the effects of the oats to work themselves out of my system. I was TIRED and in a fog. I felt like everyone was out to get me, and I was most certainly out to get everyone! It was so bad, so horrible and terrible I will not be doing that again.

For my husband we notice similar things. Grains don’t make him go crazy like they do me, but he has noticed that if he has too many his belly really starts to hurt, and he becomes increasingly tired. Also, grain (especially wheat) really flares up his asthma. Interestingly enough, my sister finds the same to be true for her. For him, though, there are certain chemicals (I’m guessing preservatives) that set him off. There are 2 restaurants we have noticed really make a huge difference in him. After he eats at those 2 restaurants he will spiral into a horrible depression, or become very aggressive and angry. Obviously, he tries to avoid these 2 restaurants!

In our children we notice their ability to obey, their attitudes, etc are greatly affected by grain. If they have too much (which they have had recently) they meltdown at everything, everything is such a huge deal. Cora seems to have belly issues with too much grain, too. Ben has been doing so much better since we’ve switched him to almond milk and really limit his cheese and yogurt intake. He’s not congested, his nose isn’t running constantly and he’s not sick (Ok, so right now he’s sick, but I think it’s a virus he got somewhere). It’s been amazing to watch how food affects our children, even at their young ages.

You are what you eat. Plain and simple. If you are always tired, always feel grouchy, feel depressed for no reason, you might want to start making note of what you’re putting in your body. Grains, sugar, dairy, they all affect us. Mainly because they are so manipulated by processing they no longer hold nutritional value for our systems. So many chemicals have been added either as pesticide, or during the processing process, that our bodies can’t deal with them. Yes, eating healthy is more expensive. But you know what? So is healthcare! So is going to the doctor time and again. So is medication. What do you have to lose by switching the way you eat? Nothing, but feeling better, and who doesn’t want that? Every time you open a package of food just remember, you are what you eat. You could be putting something into your system that is only making you feel more tired or grouchy. You owe it to yourself to make some good changes! If our family can do it, you can do it! (If I’m coming across as harsh, I’m not sorry. I feel so passionate about this and suffered for so many years with what were at the time mysterious things that I just want others to find the health and healing I’ve been able to find. I’m not sorry if I offend you. Maybe you need to be offended! Maybe you need to hear the hard truth. Please, make changes and take care of yourself!)

Leave a Reply

