Holy Saturday

The following is taken from “Questions Along the Way: Daily Lenten Prayers” by Arden W. Mead.

“Who will roll away the stone for us?” Mark 16:3

O Lord, I have stood before enough graves to know how serious a question this is…and how impossible. I have wept until I had no more tears, but the graves of those whom I have loved and lost stayed closed, and they themsleves stayed dead. One of the most difficult–but most necessary–points of grief is realizing just that: This is permanent! No on will call and say this was a sad mistake; my loved one isn’t really dead. No one can roll that stone away and make it all the way it was before, the way I wish it were again.

No, death is permanent.

At least it was...

Leave a Reply

