A Book Review

I don’t know if I’ve done a book review before, which is strange, because I love to read and do it often! In any case, I thought I would give you some thoughts on a book I finished recently and really enjoyed.

For Christmas, David got me “A Year of Biblical Womanhood” written by Rachel Held Evans. It was such a great book!! I read it in about a week and actually read a lot of it aloud to David during the evenings. She writes with a lot of humor (which helps me to relate to anything), but I found what I liked most was her writing put to words a lot of things I have struggled with in the past, or do currently. She brings to light a lot of questions and different ideas to things that are very common in the evangelical world. One of my favorite chapters was her talking about what it means to be a Proverbs 31 woman. I found it to be enlightening and encouraging. She has a lot of sources for her findings, most of which are just plain Scripture. I appreciated knowing she wasn’t just spouting off her own opinions  but had taken time to research and study and come to conclusions based on those things.

If you are looking for a book that will make you laugh and think all at the same time I highly recommend it! You don’t have to agree with everything in a book for it to be good. I won’t say I agreed with every single word written, but I agreed with a majority of it. If nothing else, it will give you a different perspective and way of looking at things you may think you’ve had figured out for a long time. It was both encouraging and challenging for me to read this book, and I highly recommend it!

One thought on “A Book Review

  1. Pingback: BookReview: A Year of Biblical Womanhood – an Unexpected LOL. | Sunglasses Always Fit

Leave a Reply

