Countdown

The countdown continues–I’m 36 weeks today! I’ll be considered full term next Tuesday. Where has this pregnancy gone? I’m NOT complaining, please don’t misunderstand, but it is just going so fast. Maybe because I have 2 other kids and that fills up the days? In any case, here we are, 36 weeks, and this baby is safe to come in 1-3 weeks, or so.

The end of last week and over the weekend (Sunday being the worse) I had quite a lot of contractions. They were hard, frequent, wrapping around me, etc. I drank and drank and drank water and tried to lay low. Finally, on Sunday, I decided enough was enough and called the midwife…who told me to keep drinking and lay down the rest of the day. I did, for the most part (the laying down bit wasn’t all that possible) and got some good rest. I’ve not had any other major contractions, or at least not at all frequently or regularly, for that I’m thankful! I know the baby would survive just fine outside the womb at this point, but I also know the longer she’s inside the better for her lungs.

I subscribe (I guess I subscribe, I don’t pay anything) to babycenter.com , and I get weekly updates on the progress of the baby. Today says she’ll start gaining 1 oz every day now and is probably around 6 lbs. and 18 1/2 in long. Phew. I don’t know for sure what she weighs, but I’m feeling LARGE, BIG, GINORMOUS, and any other word that means just plain HUGE. It’s hard to believe I’m going to get bigger still before she comes out!

We just about have the nursery done. David’s accident with the curtain rod slowed the process up a bit, but we’ve had friends and my dad help with various things so that’s been helpful! I just need to get the clothes up from the basement, washed and put away. I’ll wait a week or 2 more before getting the crib made (so it doesn’t get dusty). I’m trying to keep Cora as involved as possible, which totally pleases her little heart! She’s so precious. Almost daily she says, “I’ll get to help you change the baby’s diaper and get her dressed!” Yes, yes, we’ll at least try!

I have a few more things on my list I need to buy, use my Mother’s Day gift of a mani-pedi, and I’m getting my hair cut this afternoon! Things are getting done, and I’m feeling like I can relax a little now…C’mon Baby! We’re ready for ya!

One thought on “Countdown

  1. With my first I rarely EVER felt movement! Thank God for those baby doppler things you can rent to hear the heartbeat, or we would have been at the ER over and over and over again. Everything I read said if you didn’t feel movement for 24 hours, to go to the ER or call your OB! I would go several days without feeling anything. However, as long as I could hear a good, strong heartbeat, I felt okay about it. I DID discuss it with my doctor,and she said because my placenta was located in the front of my uterus, it blocked a lot of feeling. With my 2nd I had early and normal movement feelings -just goes to show they’re all different! Certainly call your doctor and get an ultrasound or something, but don’t be too worried just yet. You may want to consider renting a baby doppler -it was a savior that brought me a lot of peace of mind.

Leave a Reply

