The True Hero

Today I’m 37 weeks! I’m full term, I can have this baby anytime she wants to come! I’ve been having a ton of contractions for over a week now. A lot of which are painful and wrapping all around me, some causing me to stop walking, or talking. At my appointment on Friday we discovered I’m 3 cm dilated and 50% effaced, so they’ve been doing something, that’s for sure!!! We toured the birth center we’re going to be using, and it’s so nice! Because it’s a new thing for this particular hospital the birthing center is only one room, but it’s beautiful! It’ll be the nicest room I’ve given birth.

But, that’s not what I really wanted to talk about today. I want to talk about the true hero in all of this. That is, David, my husband. I have come to realize over my last 3 pregnancies that the true hero in it all is the husband. Everyone jokes around that the man’s part in the whole pregnancy thing is easy and short. That may be true for the actual getting pregnant and sure the man isn’t pregnant, but I have come to realize that his part is not done just because a woman is pregnant. I don’t know about your husband, but mine (and the husbands of my friends and family members) doesn’t stop his duties just because his wife is pregnant. David has to shoulder a lot. Because I get so sick during the early part of the pregnancy he has to take on the duties of housewife and mom, too. He has to cook, grocery shop, clean, take care of the kids more than usual. And, never mind all of his own duties he has. He has to put up with a hormonal, weeping wife who can go from happy to angry to sad in a matter of mere seconds! He has to deal with her ever-changing body and her self-esteem as she grows larger and larger and feels ugly. He has to put up with her temperature changes–currently I’m ROASTING–and the added pillows in the bed. And, I don’t know about you, but MY husband has a lot of sleepless nights because when I’m pregnant I snore horribly. Yep, it’s a time of stress for both the pregnant woman AND her husband.

And, this doesn’t even include the labor and delivery time! I have NEVER once placed blame on my husband during labor/delivery. I mean, seriously, why would you look at the man you love and tell him it’s all his fault? I have never understood that and refuse to say that, or anything else like it to my husband. He is there for me during the labor, holding my hand, cheering me on, encouraging me, giving me strength when I feel like I can’t continue. He prays for me when I’m in excruciating pain. Yes, I do believe he feels helpless, and he has admitted to me that he hates seeing me in that pain. But, he remains by my side and helps me through it. And, at the end he is rewarded with getting to be the first to see his new daughter or son enter the world–yes, he gets to see our bundle before I do! I love watching my husband laugh with pure JOY as he sees his new daughter/son for the first time. I love seeing the glee and excitement on his face, and we look at each other, and I do believe we both think “it was all worth it.”

I love my husband so much. Pregnancy is never easy in our home. It’s a very stressful time in our family and our marriage. There are so many emotions (mine) that get unleashed, and I end up saying “sorry” more during pregnancy than any other time, I do believe. But, in the end we know it’s a season we’ve just weathered, and we’ve lived through, and in the end God has blessed us with another child. To me, the mom is not the hero in all of this. The baby is not the hero, nor are the midwives, doctors or nurses. It’s the husband. The man who is there with his wife through it all, through sickness and in health, for better or worse. I love my hero so very much and am so thankful for him. There is no one I want to do this journey with more than David.

4 thoughts on “The True Hero

  1. Here I was in a pregnant body – pregnant with twins. And no kidding, I was almost as round as I was tall. I felt E-N-O-R-M-O-U-S, a heffalump in a woman’s body! My body image during pregnancy hit an all time low. It was enough to give me the pregnancy blues because I hated my pregnant body.

  2. Beautifully written, Jeni. Such a wonderful tribute to David, and the love you share in your marriage. We’ve known David forever, and look forward to the day we get to meet you in person. We will be praying for you and David as you prepare to welcome your new bundle of joy into the world. God bless you both, and your family.

Leave a Reply

